Tags

, , ,

“I can’t imagine a person being a success who doesn’t give this game of life everything’s he got.” -Walter Cronkite

Think back to all the hard workers from our neighborhood.

Really think about it.

Crowded Subway

The Ironworker who got up at the crack of dawn to build the city.

The cop or fireman…putting on the uniform every day to protect and serve across New York City.

The schoolteacher at Holy Name who had to teach the daily lesson and deal with us kids.

All the shopkeepers across 9th avenue opening their business to serve the neighborhood. (Is John still delivering for United on that bike?)

Work ethic. That’s what it was always about. Whether it was the 1960’s, 70’s, 80’s, or 90’s…

Today in 2017 the same holds true. Nothing’s changed.

Nothing gets done without the work.

That’s one lesson I wish I learned back in the day.

My work ethic was poor. Below average for sure.

Thank God that changed. I even was able to teach the timeless lesson to our 17 year-old daughter Taylor.

She’s taken it and ran with it…We watch her every day. Whether it’s getting up early for school (by herself) and most important, going to her after-school job. (Saturday’s and Sunday’s too).

Just the other day she said to me, “They took me off Sunday’s.”

I said that’s great you get a day off now.

“NO DAD, I WANNA WORK!” She replied.

Have a great day!

-Red

Hoops135@hotmail.com