Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

How many times have you caught yourself, or even a friend saying, “it’s a small world”?

We can all agree that our neighborhood wasn’t what  someone would call small.  There were a ton of people who grew up there.   Some went on their way to bigger and better things, some stayed behind and are still holding down the fort.

Along the way we have made trips to other cities, states and even country’s.  Some have gone off to college and even the armed forces.  And with those adventures, comes meeting new people.

“We’re ya from?”

“I’m from Brooklyn”

“Oh yeah, I have a friend from there.”

Or you may hear, “I have a cousin from there.”

You get the point.

Back in 1996 when I relocated from the neighborhood to East Lansing, Michigan I began working with the Michigan State University Men’s basketball team along with enrolling in school as a full-time student.  We had a retired teacher/basketball coach (Doug) who spent time helping the Spartans with some behind the scenes stuff.  The guy was awesome.  We hit it off right away. Great basketball mind.

On one of my trips back to Brooklyn I picked up some gear and brought it back to Michigan. I gave Doug a Bishop Ford pullover.  One day he was at a grocery store shopping and the cashier noticed his Ford logo on the front of his red pullover.

“Do you know anyone from Bishop Ford?” she asked.

“Yeah, Steve Finamore.”

“Oh wow, you know Red?” The cashier answered.

Doug couldn’t believe it.  Someone out here in East Lansing knew me from Brooklyn.

Which brings me to another story from Container Diaries contributer Kenny Whelan.

My wife is starting to think Farrell’s is some type of cult.
Just a little background.  My wife (who’s from Texas) and I live in Austin in a small 10 unit condo complex just south of downtown.
Well, the other day, I’m out in the driveway talking to a new neighbor (Paul) who just rode up on his bike with a friend of his (Dave).  We get to the talking and it turns out that Dave is visiting from upstate NY (outside Syracuse).  I mention that I went to SUNY Cortland and these two tell me they went to Sienna.  When I mention Brian Keating, they about shit.  I’m pretty sure Dave told me that Noreen Keating is married to his brother.
Dave tells me that he and his father attended Mr. Keating’s wake and then went to some bar.  When I mention Farrell’s, he says he’s pretty sure that was it.
When I tell my wife this story later, she just shakes her head.  We ran into John Powers in Paris when he was there on his honeymoon and we were on vacation, another guy in Hawaii (he was wearing a Farrell’s t-shirt at the airport), the now ex-wife of a friend of Houlie’s at the grocery store here in Austin (she was wearing the old maroon jacket with the “F” on it) I think she was married to Hajjar from Windsor Place?
Unreal huh?
Do you have a similar story pertaining to meeting someone that has some kind of connection to the neighborhood?  We’d love to hear about it.
-SF
Hoops135@hotmail.com