Tags

, , , , , , ,

Wanted to wish everyone a Merry Christmas. Hope you have a wonderful day.

Couple of days ago I mentioned some of my childhood memories from Christmas. Let me add another; Christmas night, 1976. Madison Square Garden was the place to be. My older bother and I attended the Knicks-76ers game. I was 12. 

Mom knew a guy, his name was Jerry, he worked at M.S.G. – he got us in for free. It was a great night, one I will never forget. 

The Knicks were my team. I loved them. They had Bob McAdoo, Walt Frazier, Earl Monroe, Lonnie Shelton, Spencer Haywood, Phil Jackson, Bill Bradley, Ticky Burden and Mo Layton. Red Holzman was their head coach. 

It was Julius Erving’s first game in New York City as a member of the Philadelphia 76ers.(It was also my first time at 33rd and 8th) Lloyd Free, George McGinnis, Henry Bibby Harvey Catchings, Mike Dunleavy, Steve Mix and Caldwell Jones. Gene Shue was their head coach. 

Erving had spent his first five years of pro ball in the ABA playing for the Virginia Squires and New York Nets. 

When the ABA and NBA merged in 1976, the high-flyer from Long Island was sold by the Nets to Philadelphia.Crazy story – one worth looking up.

Erving would play 11 years in Philadelphia where he led them to the 1983 NBA championship. A 4-0 sweep over the Lakers.

In that memorable Christmas night game at M.S.G. Erving played 27 minutes, scored 16 points on 6-12 shooting from the field helping Philadelphia defeat New York, 105-104. Free led Philly with 30 points. (In 1981, Free would change his first name to World B.)

McAdoo dropped 24 points for the Knicks. 

It was a night that helped shape my love for the game. 

Merry Christmas everyone…

-Steve

E-Mail: SteveFinamore@yahoo.com