Tags

, , , , , , ,

By now you have heard Pete Hamill has passed away.  For the next few days I will pay tribute to my favorite writer.

I never got the chance to tell him but Pete was a huge inspiration to this novice writer.  Over the years I have devoured his work. Studied him like a college student prepares for a final exam; books, articles and lectures.   Pete was a fascinating man.  A man’s man.

R.I.P. Pete…

‘A Drinking Life’ may just be my favorite memoir of all-time.  Pete wrote about his days of growing up in Brooklyn and his battle with booze.  His stories are riveting.  On every page I felt like I was in the scene with him.  He’s that good.   I highly recommend you read this compelling book.

“There is no way that I could tell the story of the drinking without telling the story of my life.  I learned much about being human and mastering a craft.  Life doesn’t get easier when you walk away from the culture of drink.  I started writing this book when some of my friends from the drinking life began to die.”

(Introduction; ‘The Drinking Life’, 1993)

-Steve Finamore

E-Mail:  Hoops135@hotmail.com

Pete