Tags

, , , , , , ,

The definition of gratitude: the quality of being thankful.

Sounds simple, but sometimes I forget about the people who have helped me along my journey in this game called Life.

Wanted to take the time to thank some people from the neighborhood who helped me in one way or another.

Danny Piselli for teaching me how to play the game of basketball. Wish I would have bought into the “discipline” you tried to teach us. And thanks for giving me the opportunity to be your assistant coach at Bishop Ford.

Joe Farrell, my 6th grade baseball and basketball coach. You allowed me to play the game. R.I.P “Fonz.”

Tom Brady, your enthusiasm for the game of basketball was contagious. Glad I caught it. I’ll never forget the ticket you gave me to attend the Converse All-Stars basketball clinic at Power Memorial. As a twelve year-old boy I watched Julius Erving throw down a few dunks and it made a huge impression on me.

Joe Mussa, my 5th grade teacher at Holy Name. I don’t give a shit what they say about you or accuse you of; I spent many days and nights with you and you never once displayed any deviant behavior. You were a great teacher and a great coach.

Gerard Trapp, for always being a good dude. You were my idol. The many conversations we had about sports and life were priceless. Can’t forget about the late night/early morning trips to George’s Restaurant on Coney Island Avenue. And thanks for getting my coaching career started when I was 16.

To all my friends from the ages of 13 to 18 – you guys and gals were fun to be around every night. The nights hanging out on the parkside drinking and smoking. Wouldn’t trade those days for anything. R.I.P John Cain.

The men from Timboo’s Bar on fifth avenue. Little did you know I watched all of you very closely. I tried to learn from you. If you have read “The Tender Bar” or have seen the movie, I was J.R. Dee-Dee O’Brien, Roger Cheba, Phil McNiff...and many others.

Can’t forget the men from Farrell’s – too many to mention but you guys taught me loyalty, toughness and humor. Outstanding athletes, guys who played the game the right way whether it was basketball, football or softball.

The Ironworkers from Local 40. You taught me work ethic. I was in awe of all of you. Tommy Walsh especially. As a young boy I watched Walsh play hoops for Bishop Ford. When I started my first ironworking gig Tommy was a connector for the great Billy Phelan.

Maureen Horan, my first girlfriend, you taught me the meaning of love. I’m sorry I wasn’t a better boyfriend. I fucked that up. My bad.

I am sure I have missed a few but to the ones mentioned, thank you. I appreciate you.

Hope all is well…

-Steve A.K.A. “Red”

E-Mail: SteveFinamore@yahoo.com