Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Quote of the Day:

“We get hurt and embarrassed by our early failures and forget to go back and take a second look at what we’re feeling. We get disconnected from who we really are and what we can do.” -Hal Zina Bennett

(Image from the Mickey Breen CollectionClick to enlarge)

FUCK!

I came across this quote early Saturday night and cried.

Hal’s words best describes me as a kid and maybe it describes you too?

In 1978 I lasted three days as a 14 year-old freshman at Power Memorial High School.

Later on I spent a few months at John Jay High School on three different occasions from 1979 to 1980.

Sandwiched in between I can’t forget the one month I spent riding the ‘F’ train to the Lower East Side at LaSalle Academy in 1979.

Believe it or not, I never completed one full semester of high school. I can’t even recall taking an exam; that’s the God’s honest truth!

You’re probably wondering; How did you ever graduate from Central Michigan University in 2003?

Well, it was easy; I went back and took that second look at my life.

-Steve

Hoops135@hotmail.com