Tags

,

If you read the blog, you know I love pictures.

I recall when I attended John Jay back in 1979 (the first of two attempts) I was enrolled in a photography class. I really enjoyed it. Matter of fact, it was the only class I looked forward to attending. I had it first hour at 12:15 (remember Jay had AM and PM sessions).

After the class ended I would cut out of school.

I would love to mention who would cut out with me but I need to save him from the embarrassment.

This kid had wood shop first hour. We’d meet in the hallway and instead of going to 2nd hour, we’d book.

If you went to Jay, you know it was hard to leave without showing your class schedule to the security guards at the doors. So one day me and my friend took a back staircase to a second floor window. After lifting the window we realized there was a gated screen. My friend pulled out some sort of tool he used in wood shop and got us free. I felt like Steve McQueen in the ‘Great Escape‘.

How did I get into that story?

Anyways, back to the topic of photos; I wish I had more from my childhood, I know there were some taken but God only knows where they ended up?

The one thing about pictures is they bring back so many memories, and I love to think back to all the good times of growing up in the neighborhood.

I carry a camera with me everywhere I go, my wife and daughter laugh at me. But I don’t care, I love taking pictures.

If you have any pictures you’d like to share, please e-mail them and I will post them on the blog.

One day when my daughter starts her family, she’ll thank me for taking so many pictures.

Steve

hoops135@hotmail.com