Tags

, , , , ,

I’m sure everyone has a ‘consumer returns’ story or two to tell. I don’t ever recall returning anything back in the day growing up on the avenue. I usually just suck it up and chalk it up as a loss or lesson well-learned.

This past Sunday my wife went grocery shopping to a place she often visits, Meijer. It’s a huge shopping joint here in Michigan. You can get almost anything you wish, even gas. (A few years ago when my late mother Carol came out to visit us, she spent over 4 hours in there).

On Sunday, my wife picked up two containers of Kozy Shack Rice pudding. (hey, Pynn’s deli went under so it’s tough getting good pudding)

On Tuesday afternoon I cracked one of the containers open and shared it with our daughter Taylor. I dove into my bowl first…YUCK!

It was awful!

Totally sour. Like in the Little Rascals episode when they were all whispering to each other, ‘Don’t drink the milk, it’s spoiled’!

I looked over at Taylor who was now scoopping up her second spoonful of the creamy treat.

“Taylor, how does it taste?”

She turned and looked at me with the funniest mug ever.

“Here daddy, I don’t want it.” She explained as she lifted the bowl and passed it to me.

Usually Taylor can polish off a bowl of rice pudding within minutes, especially after school.

So last night I took the two tubs of pudding back to Meijer.

I approached the gentleman wearing the earring in one ear and neatly trimmed goatee at the customer service desk.

“Hey how ya doin?” I said as I placed the Meijer plastic bag in front of him on the counter.

To me, this guy was in a cranky mood already. It was around 10:30 PM and from looking behind him and noticing him glancing up at the clock on the wall he had clearly taken back a lot of returns; it was probably a long shift.

I was waiting for him to say something back to me but no greeting – no problem. (Maybe he missed the customer training orientation)

“My wife purchased this rice pudding Sunday night and they are sour.”

The guy looked at the two containers and NOT at me.

“You have a receipt?” he asked.

“No, I don’t.” I replied.

“Ok I can’t give you cash back, you wanna replace them?” he asked.

Like I wanted cash back? What is he a mind-reader now?

“I came in late last night, the desk was closed. I tried to replace them with the cashier but the four containers on the shelf were marked, Dec. 18th.”

Since it was Dec.16th, I decided to pass on the rice pudding until a fresh batch was delivered.

“You have a drivers license?” he then asked.

I looked at him for a second and thought to myself, ‘A drivers license! What am I getting pulled over by a cop for speeding’?

“I left my wallet out in my car, I gotta go get it.” I said to him.

Now mind you, this is Michigan and it’s 10:30 at night – it was a bit cold outside, not to mention there was snow everywhere.

“I’ll be right back.” I said. Again, no sound from the fella.

So I walked to my car and grabbed my wallet out of my car.

As I returned back to the counter and handed him my license, he started banging all these buttons on a computer in front of him, hawking my card. (maybe I had to be 21 to return something and the guy was making me feel good?)

‘Why the hell is this guy looking up my info’? I thought to myself.

‘Maybe he’s running my license to see if I have any outstanding tickets’?

Whatever this guy was doing, my attitude had gone from being very cordial and optimistic upon my arrival to perturbed.

While he was typing away my eyes wandered up to the wall behind him and I began to read their exchange policy; it wasn’t very long but there it was in white letters over a blue background; ‘NO RECEIPT REQUIRED FOR RETURNS ON FOOD’. No where in sight did it say anything about cash back.

So I’m like, ‘why did this schmuck ask me for a receipt‘? Was he flexing his Customer Service muscle? Maybe he felt like bullying me? Or better yet, he was letting his authoritative presence be known.

Finally, after five minutes he handed me a Meijer card.

I wasn’t going to let this guy make me feel like I was doing something wrong on the count of a product being spoiled;  all l wanted to do was bring the pudding back; if I got my money back, cool.    So I  asked him why he was asking me all these questions.

He stared at me with the dumbest look, a blank expression shall we say.

He tried his best to explain himself and I told him how he needed to change his approach; I asked for a manager.

The manager was standing a few feet away privy to our issue/conversation.

She walked over and I explained what had happened.

‘Sir, we are required to ask many questions’, is what she told me.

So we went back and forth for a few minutes, in a calming fashion I may add.

I can see why she was the manager, she knew how to deal with customers.

The bottom line is, why is it that I have to be put through the interrogative process just for returning some rice pudding? I mean it’s not like I was returning an expensive product that had already been used.

-SF

Hoops135@hotmail.com