Tags

, ,

As we continue our tour of the neighborhood, I had to step back from my keyboard and take a deep breath and put on my thinking cap for a moment. (Do teachers still ask kids to do that today in school?)

You often hear it used in the movies, ‘he’s from the other side of the tracks’ ; most often when words like that describe someone or even a group of people, it has a negative connotation. It’s also used as an euphemism in novels; ‘They’re from the other side of town’.

Railroad tracks in rural towns are used to describe the actual cut-off to the so-called ‘socioeconomic’ status of family’s based on income, education, occupation, and social status in the neighborhood.

I received an intriguing e-mail about someone saying they ‘were from the wrong side of 9th avenue’.

I’m still trying to figure that one out.

Not once did I ever hear someone use that term in Windsor Terrace. If I recall, each side of 9th avenue had their fair share of good and bad people (but we forgive the bad people, don’t we?). Plus, we didn’t have any train tracks (but we did have the trolley car tracks)

Hopefully someone can chime in on this person’s description and enlighten me. Here is the e-mail.

I remember back when I was going to Brooklyn College I met a girl while waiting for the Coney Island Avenue bus. She told me she was from the neighborhood but she was a little older than I and I didn’t know her. Anyway, as she was relaying stories of her growing up in Windsor Terrace she said something that stayed with me…She referred to herself as being from “the wrong side of Ninth Ave?” I thought it an interesting concept. Kind of like being form the wrong side of the railroad tracks. Was there a “wrong side” ? Think about it….apparently to some people there was.

This blog entry can stir up some rather interesting debate amongst our fellow neighbors.

Was there a ‘wrong side’ of 9th avenue?

-SF

Hoops135@hotmail.com