Tags

, , , , , ,

It’s late Saturday night, slash-Sunday morning, I made it around the clock once again! My wife and daughter are enjoying the weekend in Chicago (I couldn’t make the trip, we are in the process of putting next years team together by having workouts for potential recruits at the college).

As most of you know, this is a blog about the good old times in Windsor Terrace, typed up by me…”Red”; as most people know me; from my P.O.V (we encourage guest bloggers)

I never really gave any thought to the nickname that was given to me at such an early age. (Maybe it had something to do with the color of my mop atop my dome).

Around the neighborhood, some people called me by my first name, Steve. Some shortened my last name and called me Fin.

The last few years I have gone by Steve to most; no one out here in the Midwest knows me as ‘Red’. But when someone refers to me as Red on the blog, it brings back some great memories and brings a smile to my face. (There have been many famous people who went by ‘Red’. Holzman, Auerbach, Bruin, Barber, and D.J. Red Alert, to name a few)

Memories that crossed my mind tonight were eating an ice cream cone at Bonalli’s on the avenue (wait, do you eat an ice cream cone or do you lick it?). Or an ice, slush and if I had enough dough that day, downing a shake.

Remembrance of playing ‘Kings’ against a wall; any wall you could find.  You remember Kings, don’t you? About 4 or 5 people lined up a few feet away from the wall, facing it, and the first guy in line was King. We used a rubber ball and the King ‘served’. (I will let our readers fill in the blanks)

How about recalling, as a student at Holy Name going home for lunch? The bell would ring close to twelve and you would head home for about 30 to 45 minutes then come back for the second part of the day.

Do they still allow kids in Holy Name to go home for lunch? And when we went home for lunch, was the lunch rooms being used? If so, by whom?

Total recall of playing ‘Around the World’ in the boys schoolyard. Do they still play that game?

It was easy for us to play Around the World in the schoolyard because we had the concrete cut out into square boxes.

Boy those cement mixers who poured the concrete in the schoolyard that day were smart!

Everyone started out close to the basket and you had to make a shot in the first box to move on. You worked your way out to the corner, then up the side to the wing; then across the foul-line extended all the way across the court to the opposite wing, down the sideline to the corner then towards the goal. if you made a shot and someone was in the box, you sent them back to the beginning.

(What did you have to do to win the game?)

Rich F., is Around the World the reason why so many great outside shooters came from Holy Name?

I would do anything to go back into time like Michael J. Fox in ‘Back to the Future‘; to those days on the avenue with friends and the times spent in the schoolyard playing Around the World.

I’m also waiting with much patience for the day someone calls me ‘Red’, out here in Michigan.

But I will not hold my breath because the ‘doo’s’ not red anymore and it’s almost gone!

-SF

Hoops135@hotmail.com