IF I COULD TURN BACK TIME

A letter from Steve (2017) to Red (1978)…

Hey Red,

How you doing?

Just wanted to reach out to you and see what was up…

IMG_0855

I hear you are not in school anymore. What’s up?

They tell me you dropped out, again. What’s this your third school?

What’s happening?

Something wrong?

You’re a good basketball player, you should be on the team. Get your shit together and get your ass back in school.

You need me to take you down to John Jay and enroll you?

I can take you in Coakley’s office and find out when try-outs are.

You know Jackie Ryan from East 5th street?

He played their last year and was the man.

You can do the same thing; they have a good team coming back.

How’s your mom? She’s good people. Hope you are treating her right.

Well, that’s all for now. Hope to hear from you soon.

Steve

 

This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to IF I COULD TURN BACK TIME

  1. Thomas Brady says:

    Nicely written, I am
    glad my protege followed
    Your lead. God Bless ALL
    my fellow Winslr Terraconians!

    Sincerely yours
    I remain,
    Tommy Brady

  2. TonyF16th ST says:

    Steve let me start out by saying you cannot go through life saying could have should have would have. It will only drive you nuts. Think about you wouldn’t have your daughter, your wife the friends you’ve made. Yes there are some things you could have done but then what are the repercussions of those actions taken? I personally take joy in the fact that there were times and places I’ve been that you wouldn’t want anyone to be but you picked yourself up shook the dust off and succeeded. The old saying the grass is always greener on the other side of the fence really rings through. So with that said stop and look around, there are so many people who can’t say they made it or are still trying to find themselves.

    I am not trying to preach to you or reprimand you by no means. all I’m saying is you are a huge success and someone that people can say man look what that little red headed kid did, HE MADE IT. He is truly an inspiration to all

    You did good bud. Id like to say not too shabby for a kid from Park Slope.

  3. Emmett Hoops says:

    If I could turn back time, I’d still be living on Windsor Place, still smelling that mix of roofing tar and old wood that came from the space just inside the roof hatch, and still having all my family around me. Truly, we don’t know how good we have it until we look back through misty glass.

Leave a Reply

