GET INTO THE GROOVE…

For a very long time I have been trying my hand at the “Self-Help” movement.

I’ve read books, listened to motivational speakers, etc.

Tried everything. Spent so much money. Ouch!

IMG_1605

I finally realized the most important thing in my life is to figure out what screwed me up?

All the bullshit about passion, hard work, etc. well, that is all bullshit.

Life is all about the journey. Don’t get me wrong, you need to work hard and all and have passion but…

Getting to the root of the problem and working to eliminate those undesirables, that is the key. Control the controllables. Oops, that sounds like “self-help” talk doesn’t it?

Growing up in the neighborhood I learned awful traits. All my fault. Traits that paralyzed me for many years. No direction. Going with the flow. The daily grind. Never stopping to smell the roses.

Knocked me off the road. My path. You know the deal.

Let me stop though, because I have been beating myself up too long. No more beating…

I’ve found something new, it’s my own program and I am proud of it. Sorta collected different things.

I call it, “On the Right Path.” Doing the right thing. Playing the right way.

LOL, funny right?

Perspective, self-evaluation and honesty are the keys. Doesn’t matter where you been or how old you are. It’s never too late…

Make no mistake, it’s not self-help. It’s more. It’s better. It’s easier. If you are honest. And guess what, I’m not selling anything.

Gregg Popovich, head coach of the San Antonio Spurs once said, “You’re responsible for your own recovery.” Well you are responsible for the road you travel. The path. The journey. Stay on…if you get knocked off, get back on.

I found 30 areas in my life that needs to be eliminated or improved.  So much better than “get up and go work hard…” Grind, grind, grind…work, work, work.

Nah.

Not feeling that.

I work hard. I have passion. That shit gets redundant.

It’s a band-aid. That’s it. Bandages that keep falling off.

What I’m talking about is “undesirable emotional responses” to life’s daily dealings.

The challenges we face soon as we wake up. Why? Why? Why? Where did it originate?

Here we go, number one is fear. Oh boy did I enter into a dark space. I went back and tried to find the original time and place when I started to fear.

Dale Carnegie once said, “If you want to conquer fear, don’t sit home and think about it, go out and get busy.”

Yo Red, sounds like self-help talk to me…

Nah.

Have a solid day…

Red

Hoops135@hotmail.com

This entry was posted in Blog, Joe Lee, Steve Finamore and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to GET INTO THE GROOVE…

  1. Al says:

    “A good hockey player plays where the puck is. A great hockey player plays where the puck is going to be.”
    Wayne Gretzky

    Ever notice how when we’re physically engaged and focused mentally on the task at hand our thinking is clear and unbothered by memories? Or how joyful it was to be in the present moment when you were enjoying every second with your three-year-old? Then, when you’re alone relaxing, late in the evening, unfocused and maybe too tired to do anything else, you have this flood of unattended to memories (sometimes mixed with emotions, or anger, or regret) that come back to haunt you? And then it happens on a regular basis (choose your frequency: weekly, monthly, more often)? And no matter how hard you try to put them to rest and out of your mind once and for all you can’t? It’s like constantly trying to reorganize a disorganized filing cabinet. They have a mind of their own. I think we all, no matter how charmed a life we’ve had, were occasionally a “victim” in ways small and large and your mind never forgets and is frequently (constantly) trying to right the wrongs. Then we focus on the puck again, or are again playing with a child, or maybe being “present” with a friend or family member dealing with a terminal disease—and those thoughts recede again because we are in the moment, focused on a “puck.” It’ll never go away.

    Everything changes once we identify with being the witness to the story, instead of the actor in it.”
    ― Ram Dass

    Early in the journey you wonder how long the journey will take and whether you will make it in this lifetime. Later you will see that where you are going is HERE and you will arrive NOW…so you stop asking.”
    ― Ram Dass, Be Here Now

    That Wayne was so right. Gotta swat that inner monologue cause there’s more important stuff to do.

    “You miss 100 percent of the shots you never take.”
    Wayne Gretzky

Leave a Reply

