R.I.P. – JOHN CAIN

FUCK!

Sad to report my childhood friend, John Cain has passed away. Cain died of a heart attack Monday night. He was 52.

My friends

John is in the back row, second from the left, next to Sean Reilly. John’s holding a case of beer on his right shoulder.

We had been e-mailing each other the past few months. We were just exchanging e-mails this past week.  Yesterday he wished me a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

As teenagers we spent a lot of time together. In the 8th grade we played on the same intramural football team. (Only people who attended Holy Name get this). I was the QB. John was the best player in the league. Wherever I threw the ball John was there to make me look good. Dude was fast.

This message was posted on his brother’s Facebook page:

It deeply saddens me to inform you that my brother John passed away last night from a heart attack. We are all deeply shocked and can’t believe this has happened. Funeral arrangements:

Friday 12/30/2016
Joseph G. Duffy funeral home
255 9th street
Brooklyn, NY 11215
2pm to 5pm
7pm to 9pm
____________________________________
Funeral Mass at Holy Name Church
245 prospect Park west
Brooklyn, NY 11215
12/31/2016
10am

John was a great dude…

CONDOLENCES TO THE ENTIRE CAIN FAMILY…

-Red

Hoops135@hotmail.com

This entry was posted in Blog, John Cain and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to R.I.P. – JOHN CAIN

  1. Red, My heart brakes for John, Kathy and the rest of the Cain Family. Fonze and I used to coach John in baseball and basketball. I am sick over this tragedy. As a matter of fact, you were on the same teams together! If my memory serves me correct John was a left-handed first baseman and maybe a pitcher also. He also was a great kid. May God keep his servant John is His Eternal Care.

    With deep sympathy I remain, Thomas R. Brady

    Sent from AOL Mobile Mail

    • Steve says:

      Tom,

      You are right. J.C. was a south-paw and boy was he some athlete.

      Fast as heck too.

      We had fun that year. I was in the sixth grade. You and Fonz did a great job teaching us how to play baseball.

      Thanks for writing.

      Stay warm my friend and enjoy the basketball games on television.

      Red

  2. Richie k says:

    Very sad

  3. Karen Artz Shanley says:

    This sure is a tough one for our friends.

  4. Gerard clifford says:

    It breaks my heart to hear we lost another friend from the neighborhood. First Marti fox now Michael Cain .My deepest sympathies go out to the cane family for your loss.

Leave a Reply

