MERRY CHRISTMAS

Wanted to wish everyone a very Merry Christmas. Hope the readers of Container Diaries have a great day.

Here’s one of my many Christmas memories from back in the day.

I was 6 years-old.  It was a little after 7:00 AM. Everyone in my family was sleeping.

Santa Claus brought me a Voit basketball.  I reached down and pulled it from under our tree. Ripping the ball out of the box, I started dribbling in our apartment and mom woke up screaming at me.

voit-basketball

“GO TO THE F-ING SCHOOLYARD!”

I did as I was told.

Got dressed, walked across 9th avenue, down Windsor Place, hanging a right on Howard Place.

Straight to the yard.

212 steps.

I had the yard to myself. It was empty. People walking to church were looking at me like I was crazy.

Been in love with the sport ever since.

Merry Christmas.

Red

Hoops135@hotmail.com

This entry was posted in 1970, Angry Men, Basketball, Bernard King, Boys Schoolyard, Children, Church, Coach, Coffee, Complaining, Voit Basketball and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to MERRY CHRISTMAS

  1. Mary Anne Monaco(Brick) says:

    Merry Christmas Red and a Happy Healthy New Year! Thanks for the memories!

  2. GT says:

    Merry Christmas Red
    Keep it going, next stop NBA

  3. DAN FALCONE says:

    Merry Christmas Red

  4. Jim casey says:

    Also got a Voit one Christmas. Took it to dinner at my cousins’ house in Jersey where we had some highly competitive 3 on 3.
    Many (inc myself) said Kenny Atkinson would never be a head coach in the NBA. If that is your dream, it is possible.

    • Steve says:

      Kenny is doing a good job. My friend Jordan works for him. There’s also an assistant with the Nets living on Sherman Street. LOL

Leave a Reply

