BLESS ME FATHER…

For I have sinned – it’s been 11 days since I last composed a blog entry.

Brian Keating and Edgar

Each and every morning I drive past an outdoor basketball court. It’s covered with snow (we got about 10 inches the past few days).

It got me thinking back to when we would shovel the court in the boys schoolyard ta Holy Name so we could play.

Oh wait, you already heard this, right?

I have a question though; you think ball players today shovel the court anymore?

Red

Hoops135@hotmail.com

This entry was posted in Blog, Holy Name and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to BLESS ME FATHER…

  1. TonyF16th ST says:

    If it’s cold and snow is on the ground . If it aint indoors it aint game

  2. Jim casey says:

    Maybe in some inner city neighborhoods without a gym, but it is probably rare.
    Say 3 Our Fathers and 3 Hail Marys.
    Red, how is your team doing ?

  3. TonyF16th ST says:

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all

  4. Dan Leary says:

    Hey Red, Haven’t been on in a while. Two of the best point guards ever in that picture. Have to say Edgar was one of the best players I’ve ever seen or played with. Both great guys. I drove into Brooklyn on Saturday and it was freezing cold. I drove past East 5th Street and nobody was on the court. I remember shoveling that court with Jackie and Turk and Chris Ryan so we could play. My senior year at Ford, we lost to Loughlin on a Friday night at Loughlin and I was frustrated. Got home and went straight up to the park and shot around in the snow for 2 hours. All the guys who hung out in the par, even though it was freezing kept asking me what I was doing. It was a sanctuary and I know you know the feeling. I was disappointed to see nobody at East 5th this past Saturday, but I did pass one park on the way home where I saw a young kid shooting around and it made me smile. There are still a few of the crazies out there like us but not many.

    • Steve says:

      Danny!

      Great to hear from you.

      You’re one of the lifers.

      Talked to your brother Timmy two weeks ago.

      Two days of big time hoops today and tomorrow.

      Going to call you.

      Red

Leave a Reply

