LET’S JUST KISS AND SAY GOOD-BYE

Sanders is closing…again. (Oops, I mean the Pavilion).

Park Slope stoop (A blog) made mention of it this morning.

I remember back in the day my landlord Morty Hyman was supposed to purchase the building and turn it into a warehouse for his two stores on the avenue.

PSS asked for memories of the building. I laughed. Best memory/story is the John Corrar image of jumping on stage imitating Mick Jagger…Who was in the building that night?

Sanders 2015

This entry was posted in Blog, Sanders and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to LET’S JUST KISS AND SAY GOOD-BYE

  1. Richie k says:

    I was

  2. Jim casey says:

    A fond memory is a movie at the Sanders with my dad followed by a grilled cheese and malted at Lewnes next door.

  3. Jim casey says:

    Mine-chicolate

  4. Emmett Hoops says:

    I remember the marquee with a plea to passersby: “Save your neighborhood theater! No cable TV!”

  5. TonyF16th ST says:

    Wasn’t Lewnes on 9th street and the parkside?

  6. TonyF16th ST says:

    Great memories, the floors were so sticky your shoes would come off your feet LOL.

    Saturday matinees start at 10:00am to noon feature flick plus cartoons. Then off to Moms for 2 slices and a coke for a quarter. They used to give away Malmac dish sets, you’d collect a new piece each week.

    On a serious note is was a true “Family Gathering Place” you really don’t have that anymore.

  7. Mary Anne Monaco says:

    FUNNY MEMORY ,WATCHING DOG DAY AFTERNOON AT SANDERS EVERYONE IN THE THEATER WAS IN THE MOVIE ,!

  8. Maureen Rice (Flanagan) says:

    I believe I went to the Pavilion maybe 5 times since it has been there..and I used to see a lot of movies….when it first opened, it had 3 screens..the largest for wide release films, and then one for indies and kid’s movies….that did not last long…soon there were 8 or 9 small screens…the place was seriously mismanaged…it was just not a good movie-going experience for me…and, how the restaurant next door closed is beyond me…they had a built-in client base…me..I’m old..I don’t want to go to a movie and sit in a lounge chair and have dinner….smh…

Leave a Reply

