NO PLACE LIKE HOME

Nice story from the New York Times on our very own Pete Hamill.

“It’s recognizable Brooklyn,” Mr. Hamill said. “I’ve just been wandering around, pushing the walker. There’s still neighborhoods. And after 30 years of the disappearing sky in Manhattan, to be able to walk out and be drowned by the sun and see real green trees and not paintings of them is just exhilarating.”

This entry was posted in Blog, Pete Hamill and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to NO PLACE LIKE HOME

  1. bob terry says:

    I read about it this morning in The New York Times. Pete, Welcome back to Brooklyn; I’m staying in Manhattan. After a 44 year hiatus in California, I also returned to New York City two months ago. Like Pete, my son Nicholas is attending Regis; that’s why we are here, six blocks from Regis. I was in Brooklyn last Saturday, doing a 5K for Ovarian Cancer. Prospect Park West looked great and so did the park. I stopped at Holy Name Church, which looked beautiful too.

    On Sat, Sep 17, 2016 at 7:00 AM, CONTAINER DIARIES wrote:

    > Steve posted: “Nice story from the New York Times on our very own Pete > Hamill. http://www.nytimes.com/2016/09/18/nyregion/after-30-years- > pete-hamill-returns-to-brooklyn.html?smprod=nytcore- > iphone&smid=nytcore-iphone-share&_r=0 “It’s recognizable Brooklyn,” Mr” >

  2. bob terry says:

    Pete, Welcome back to Brooklyn. I also read the article in The New York Times this morning. I moved back to New York City two months ago after a 44 year hiatus in California so my son could attend Regis High School, where Pete attended. I was in Brooklyn last Saturday for a 5K for ovarian cancer. The park and neighborhood looked great. I stopped by Holy Name Church, which looks beautiful.

  3. Pat Fenton says:

    Good to see Pete made it home where he belongs. (Where we all belong.) Have to see if I can get him to take a tour of the hill with me, 17th Street and 9th where a thousand memories of Saturday night bar memories are stored. And where the ghosts of some very fine people still walk the avenue where we were all young. Keep writing this wonderful blog, Steve. It’s important.

  4. Jim casey says:

    Fine article.
    Glad he came back.
    I know that Brian Hamill attended Holy Name School. Did Pete ?

  5. Pat Fenton says:

    Jim, Pete was an altar boy in Holy Name.

    • Steve says:

      An altar boy? WOW! I wasn’t qualified. I had no shot. I heard they did well working a wedding?

      • bob terry says:

        I was an altar boy (now, we call them altar servers since girls have joined the ranks) @ Holy Name. It definitely had its advantages as you got out of class to serve @ funerals & got paid. If Mike Smith was the undertaker, we got a dollar to split four ways; if it was Cooke, we got two dollars to split. We would always peer out of the altar drape to see who the undertaker was & we would cheer if it was Cooke, but we liked Mike Smith, a good guy. Weddings were even more lucrative. Altar serving also got me out of the house every Friday night to serve Benediction, or at least that’s what I told my mom, God rest her soul.

        Now, for an update: There has been a lot of inflation in those funeral tips since the early sixties. My son Nicholas recently served @ a funeral @ St. Thomas More in Manhattan & received $45, which he donated to Regis. Hell, I would have come out of reserves and suited up for that funeral.

      • Steve says:

        Don’t get me started.

        As a kid, I’m in the schoolyard all day long playing basketball.

        Hated church. Hated everything associated with it…

      • Jim casey says:

        Not too bad
        The Saturday masses were more profitable than just the brief ceremonies.

  6. Maureen Rice (Flanagan) says:

    The Hamills just lost their brother Tom, second after Pete…Denis had a very moving eulogy,,,

Leave a Reply

