LOST WITHOUT YOU…

Corner shot of schoolyard

Image | This entry was posted in Blog, Schoolyard and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to LOST WITHOUT YOU…

  1. Emmett Hoops says:

    That schoolyard. Memories of 45 years ago, and they still sting. Vinnie Borowski breaking his teeth on the basketball pole; me thinking when I was in first grade that the church was painted in blood; Mark Long telling me, just further down the sidewalk on Howard Place than this photo goes, that Hubert Humphrey was a spendthrift and that Richard Nixon was going to save America.

  2. TonyF16thst says:

    It looks DEAD and STERILE. I remember when you had to wait on line to get a game. The place was always hopping. We’d play cards while we were waiting for our turn.

  3. TonyF16thst says:

    Acey Duecey, Trips or better. They were legendary

  4. Jim casey says:

    While we were waiting for a hoop, we played on the gate at the yard’s entrance or at the garbage pail.

    • Steve says:

      Jimmy,

      Taps. One guy shoots, one guy inside, the third outside the fence. Good drill for our rebounding/putback.

  5. Emmett Hoops says:

    Cards? How about flipping baseball cards? I was an expert at it…oh, I was so good, good enough to chance my Tom Seaver card in 1969. I lost it. Oh well.

  6. TonyF16thst says:

    Remember when you were a kid and played knuckles and the loser would get a few taps with the deck. Then when you got older the game escalated into the winner jumping off a stoop and pounding the shit out of the loser. Boy that was fun LOL

  7. Gerard Clifford says:

    This brings me way back ,the second I saw it I could see my old girlfriend and me playing ball back in 1982, she went to school there and lived right across the street on Howard place. Thanks Steve,is this the same Emmett that I grew up with on 16 street,if it is I could talk to your mother all day,what a great lady.

Leave a Reply

