THE HURT. THE SCARS. THE MEN…

Got an alert/article from Tony F. early this morning.

“FUCKING SICKENING,” was his text.

IMG_1916

From today’s New York Daily News.

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/politics/award-winning-journo-victim-blasts-child-victims-act-blockers-article-1.2640485

The panic and anxiety that haunted the award-winning journalist 50 years ago as a petrified child bubbled up again as he took the F train to his old neighborhood Tuesday for the first time in decades, fear turning into terror as the subway got closer to the 15th St./Prospect Park station.

 

This entry was posted in Blog, Holy Name of Jesus. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to THE HURT. THE SCARS. THE MEN…

  1. Jim casey says:

    Wow !
    This is horrible. My sentiments go out to him.
    I believe Romanus may have been at HN in the late 50s.
    Mr.Jimenez is probably not his only victim

  2. Mudge says:

    I clearly remember them preaching from the alta in church to not let your kids to hang out in Izzies they will become juvanile deliquents. I never heard of anyone being molested . Every body that hung out there knew Holy Name was full of freaks. The only Preist we respected was Farther Fleck and they got rid of him because all those good little girls were writing him love letters. I wonder if Mr.Jimenez had it to do over would he rather have risked becoming a deliquent. One thing I can say for us our girls and youngers were always protected.

  3. Mudge says:

    I remember him and there were others they did not come near us they knew they would catch a beating. Thats proubly why they disliked us so much they could not controll us.

  4. TonyF16thst says:

    To be prefectly honest he was the last guy I would have ever thought could or would do something like that. I remember him very well. Can’t wait to see the wrecking ball fall on that skin head prick vincent it’s just a matter of time.
    you know what they say.
    ‘The best place to hide is in plain sight,” again just fucking sickening.

  5. holy2520name says:

    Brother Romanus taught the 6th grade in 1963. Very surprised at this but a 75,000.00 settlement says it all . There is no doubt in my mind there are more vics. There always is. I feel so sorry for Mr.Jimenez.A life disastrously impacted by adults entrusted with our young people. This isn’t the first story I have read on this site concerning this subject.

  6. Maureen Rice (Flanagan) says:

    This statute of limitations is far overdue to be overturned…WHAT is their rationale for protecting these scumbags?? It is well known that victims take years to come forward…for so many reasons..if it is at home, they don’t want to break up the family..if it is at school, there is such a taboo at telling..young victims frequently think it is their fault…I am truly disgusted by these legislators who are supposed to represent us….they are just victimizing the victims again…bastard!

  7. Mudge says:

    I can remember it like it was yesterday they preached off the alter to not let your kids hang out in Izzys on 9th. ave. and 17th. st. or they will become hoods. no one I ever heard of was molested there . Yes I remember this dirtbag also he was not the only one . They never pulled this shit with any of our guys They would get there legs broken. There was only one priest we respected and his name was farther Fleck. He would come over to Izzys and shoot the bull with us all the time. He was agood looking guy with blond hair tha he combed in almost a D.A they transferd him when all the GOOD LITTLE GIRLS were writing him love letters. II wonder if Mr. Jimenez in hind sight would now risk be coming a hood.

  8. TonyF16thst says:

    This is so wrong in so many ways that it’s actually hard to beleive something like this was going on right out in the open and for some reason you never see it. You don’t pick it up in the way your friend acts or how the teacher was towards you. Could we have been that niave or should we just not have been afraid because these were the animal bastards our parents entrusted us to. They could do no wrong. You would never go home and report them to your parents because you knew what would happen if you did and the predator shits knew it too. Talk about the fox in the hen house. It was bad enough that they used to beat the shit out of us but to sexualy prey on children, this blog doesn’t have the capacity for the amount of words and ways I can think of about how these fucking low life motherfuckers should be punished. These are sick bastards who just keep doing this time and time again and ruining peoples lives, their families lives and they should be held accountable to the highest degree.

    I am not ashamed to say it. I am a huge supporter of the death penalty and thats one way these scumbags should be handeled.
    Its not like we lock them up and study them, no thats against their rights after all what are they lab rats?
    What about the victims rights? Why do we keep housing these mothefuckers like a fucking collection? They are sick shit which cannot and should not walk among the rest of us law abiding citizens. Shit we don’t even get to go look at the animal bastards like in a zoo that would be an invasion of their privacy. My heart goes out to each and every one of the victims preyed upon. God bless you and thank you all for coming forward. I hope it gives you some kind of comfort and closure for all the pain youve endured.

  9. TonyF16thst says:

    The only good thing right now is that you know most of these scumbags know about this blog and read the papers. I wish I could see the look on the faces of the coward bastards that are waiting for the axe to fall the fear that they are feeling as to what if someone tells what I did too.
    I hope all you scumbags rot in hell for the physical and sexual abuse you afflicted on the kids that you were supposed to be nurturing and molding under the guise of the Catholic Church.

  10. George Farrell says:

    I would like to see some corroboration. If what is alleged is true, there are other victims or witnesses out there who could confirm this man’s story. I do not think it is possible for a teacher to molest a student for four years in cloak rooms and locker rooms without raising anyone’s suspicions. No one saw or suspected anything? Mr. Jimenez went public after thirty-five years and after the alleged assailant is long dead? I want to believe this man but there has to be something more than a mere “he said”.

  11. H. Mills says:

    Tony, I’m kinda shocked also, he, in my opinion wasn’t one of those “guys”. My guidance counselor in Bishop Ford, not with me, turned out to be “one of those guys”. Guess the word is “heartbreaking”.

  12. Forever Young says:

    I was in his class NOT BUYING IT yet, the dead can’t speak after so many decades.
    As Eagles, tune states “GET OVER IT” ” https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1H-Y7MAASkg
    LISTEN! (copy then paste)
    ALL THINGS MUST PASS, & IF IT IS TRUE – ” HE’S GONNA HAVE TO SERVE SOMEBODY”
    This was not the Vietnam War! Time to pick up my guitar.
    Lyrics
    I turn on the tube and what do I see
    A whole lotta people cryin’ “Don’t blame me”
    They point their crooked little fingers ar everybody else
    Spend all their time feelin’ sorry for themselves
    Victim of this, victim of that
    Your momma’s too thin; your daddy’s too fat
    Get over it
    Get over it
    All this whinin’ and cryin’ and pitchin’ a fit
    Get over it, get over it
    You say you haven’t been the same since you had your little crash
    But you might feel better if I gave you some cash
    The more I think about it, Old Billy was right
    Let’s kill all the lawyers, kill ’em tonight
    You don’t want to work, you want to live like a king
    But the big, bad world doesn’t owe you a thing
    Get over it
    Get over it
    If you don’t want to play, then you might as well split
    Get over it, Get over it
    It’s like going to confession every time I hear you speak
    You’re makin’ the most of your losin’ streak
    Some call it sick, but I call it weak
    You drag it around like a ball and chain
    You wallow in the guilt; you wallow in the pain
    You wave it like a flag, you wear it like a crown
    Got your mind in the gutter, bringin’ everybody down
    Complain about the present and blame it on the past
    I’d like to find your inner child and kick its little ass
    Get over it
    Get over it
    All this bitchin’ and moanin’ and pitchin’ a fit
    Get over it, get over it
    Get over it
    Get over it
    It’s gotta stop sometime, so why don’t you quit
    Get over it, get over it

  13. Al says:

    Stunned. Had Brother Romanus school year ’63/64 in 6th grade. I recall him as a thin, tall fellow with a moderate, sometimes gravelly, hoarse voice. Except for occasionally getting up and standing on his desk a few times when he was trying to dramatically emphasize a point he was making (and probably to reignite our flagging interest) he seemed quite normal and never gave any indication to me of being odd or strange. I recall one of his favorite expressions was “You are neither fish nor fowl.” meaning we were in that middle age range between “young” and “teen,” also known as the beginning of adolescence. That “closet” referred to in the article was no doubt the long, narrow cloak room behind the chalkboard, just a few feet wide and approximately 12 feet long, with coat hooks all along both walls; it was accessed by the swing-open, double doors on either side of the cloak room (view photo in article). Speaking to me one day, while in class, he inexplicably referred to my nose as “Roman,” which, I can only assume, denoted my Italian heritage. It was an odd and unexpected juxtaposition, out of the blue.

    He was known to occasionally employ the use of the dreaded 18″ ruler (though not nearly as much as some brothers, especially Brother Gaudentius), applied judiciously to the posterior of those unfortunate classmates who were found to be especially dense or recalcitrant. Reminiscent of those spectacles of public flogging one sees in some third-world nations, the marked student would make his way, in a manner not dissimilar to that of the Bataan Death March captives, to the head of the room and take his requisite position by bending over the lead desk, usually on the left side, near the windows, waiting for Romanus to unleash God’s fire and brimstone by administering a brutal series of usually 6 to 10 Babe Ruth one-handed swingers, each landing with a satisfyingly sharp “slap/crack” sound. The terrified, red-faced student, his rigid body taut as a cable, invariably closed his eyes while bracing for the inevitable; never was there a class so hushed and absent of daydreaming and distracted chatter as when this occurred.

    One need not be on the receiving end of this to wince and flinch; and, once whacked, the acute stinging as one again takes his seat will not soon be forgotten.

  14. Willy Wickham says:

    I remember Romanus very well, though did not have him for the 6th grade there being so many of us baby boomers that Holy Name had two classes for each grade. He did teach my class one day on the subject of American history for some reason, maybe Brother Blaine was sick, not sure why. Can remember him saying that North American Indians were stupid because they didn’t build anything like the cities South American Indians built. That got our attention. Too bad none of us knew enough back then tell him that nomads chasing the Buffalo don’t build cities.

    Nothing else stuck in my mind about the guy except that he was somewhat effeminate, which I hesitate to add because it is no indication of who may be a child molester.

    I do find the Jimenez story credible. While I was at Holy Name a kid in another class told me something another Brother (not Romanus) did to him that years later I realized was child molestation masquerading as corporal punishment. These creeps count on the fear and shame keeping things quiet.

  15. Mudge says:

    75 thousnd dollars of your donations went to get him off the hook and some of you still dont think he did it talk about a sucker being born every minute. Tony you know he never tried this shit with your brouther. Eli Wallach said it best if he did not want them sheard he would not have made them sheep.

  16. George Farrell says:

    Mudge…my guess is the 75K involved a release of some kind and perhaps could be seen as “hush money”. Probably cheaper for the Xaverian Brothers in the long run. I just usually cast a skeptical eye towards these repressed memory people who were not “strong enough” to lodge their accusations years ago and conveniently waited until the alleged assailant was no longer around to defend himself. I graduated Holy Name in 1955 and if I so chose, I could manufacture any damned story I wanted to about how I was treated or mistreated. I wouldn’t need to produce any witnesses or provide any proof whatsoever. Just my word against people long dead. Some other posters here remember Romanus but no one is saying they knew or even suspected that he was a pedophile. If Romanus were a pedophile, there would be other victims, witnesses or guys who just had that ” funny feeling” about Romanus. I am not saying that terrible things did not happen, but I need more than one guy’s unsubstantiated story to convince me.

    • Steve says:

      George,

      Good stuff bro. I mean the guy is not around to defend himself, right? Hey if this guy in the Daily News was abused, so be it. But you’re right, 1978 HNS graduate here – I can start making shit up too.

      Oh well, thanks for writing…

  17. holy2520name says:

    If $75,000.00 isn’t proof something happened I don’t know what is? I don’t think a release of some kind or hush money is for nothing. The Xaverian Brothers owed Brother Romanus some type of defense if nothing happened not surrender if the allegation is not true.Paying 75,000.00 for ” nothing” makes him look guilty. We don’t know all the facts behind this terrible situation and I don’t believe you will see or hear of anyone else coming out admitting they were abused. It is not that type of offense people willingly admit

  18. TomFields says:

    I recall Bro. Romanus (Brocato) very well. Like some others commenting here, I would never have suspected him of any sexual abuse. I recall him as a good man, a baseball fan, he would take us on trips to the park skating, and to Van Cortland park. He actually became a friend of our family and went to ballgames and came over to dinner a few times. He passed away a few years ago.
    I am not saying his accuser is wrong. I am saying that the man I knew never exhibited any behaviors or signs that he was “one of those guys.” I graduated in 70.
    Literally, maybe only God knows the truth in these cases. Let’s just hope the right justice is meted out, if not in this life, the next.

  19. Maureen Rice (Flanagan) says:

    The reason a lot of victims don’t come forward is they fear they will not be believed..and a lot don’t come forward for many years , because it sometimes takes that long to process it and gather the inner strength..and, yes, many of the accused have passed by that time..I don’t know if the man’s story is true or not..I do know child sexual abuse gives abusers a unique advantage in that, most of the time, they KNOW doubt will be cast on the child’s story..so many of them pick kids with troubled backgrounds..as insurance in case a kid does somehow have the strength to accuse..their defense is “who are you gonna believe, him or me?” So many abusers are in positions of trust, teachers, priests, coaches..it is an uncomfortable truth for us to accept..but, it happens…there is a huge percentage of substance abusers with child molestation in their past..so..I don’t know if this Brother did it..but the man’s story is almost textbook..

  20. Mudge says:

    I would like to mention a friend of mine FARTHER JOHN VESEY. this man grew up in Holy Name parish. He was detacated to the youth of the communety and worked endlessly to help them. He be came a priest in HOLY FAMILY parish I was privledged to be associated with him. Iwas tossed up to mention his name in the same blog as these other slime buckets. However I had to mention the good things that came from HOLY NAME. Steve you may have knowen him he was a hell of a basketball player .

  21. Al says:

    Maureen, your recent comment about the dynamics and profile of abusers is right on the money. All true. Abusers can spot a vulnerable, troubled child a mile away; they know that a little sympathy and some comforting words, with perhaps an inducement of some type of fun, is the combination that works to hook the child. They remind me of hyenas or a pride of lions or pack of wolves scanning the herd of prey from a distance, looking for the stragglers and weak to target. It has always perplexed me how most people (it seems to me) doubt the claims by the victim and support the accused. I believe it is misguided because there are safeguards built in to our legal system to prevent folks from being falsely accused: standards of proof, evidentiary rules, etc.

  22. TonyF16thst says:

    If you can physically abuse you can sexually abuse. Most abusers are like that. We all know how fucked up these guys were.
    Theyd get off on beating children

    • Al says:

      Tony, you’re right. Physical abusers are sometimes sexual abusers. And sadly, according to experts, the abusers have often been abused themselves years earlier. Therapists call it the “cycle of abuse.” This is due to the deep-seated, and often subconscious, repressed hurt they carry within them that they have not resolved either through therapy or personal self-work, expiation and growth. Either you get it out or it continues into the next generation.

  23. George Farrell says:

    There seems to have been a sea change at Holy Name from my years there (1948-1955) and the decade of the 1960’s. I rememember having nuns teaching us in the first and second grades, followed by Miss Lynch and Miss Lynn in grades three and four. From the fifth through graduation I had Xaverian Brothers LaSalle, Donal, Augustine and John of the Cross. Never once in eight years did I see what some posters describe. These teachers were strict but firm and fair. I was no choir boy…plenty of extra homework and notes on report cards about my deportment. In other words, I was never awarded a Good Conduct Medal but I did receive an outstanding education! It grieves me to read about the mistreatment others suffered later on. I honestly do not know what to say. What the heck happened between 1955 and 1965? Anyone have any ideas?

    • H says:

      I graduated from Holy Name in 1956 (February). I also had Brother LaSalle (5th grade),
      Brother Augustine (6th grade), Brother John of the Cross (8A grade) and Brother Donald (8B grade). We obviously walked the halls of Holy Name at the same time.

      As far as the Xaverian Brothers being firm and fair my own experience was that if you had older brothers that went to Holy Name, I had two, you were knowingly or unknowingly treated by the Xaverian Brothers based on their remembrances and opinions of your older brothers.

      I remember once in Grade 8B Brother Donald slapped Bernard Gay, whom I considered the smartest kid in the class, on the right side of his face so hard on a Friday afternoon that the outline of Brother Donald’s hand was still visible on Bernard’s face on Monday morning.

      I had no idea what Bernard supposedly did to warrant that slap but I always thought Brother Donald was still so ticked off at Charlie Gay, Bernard’s older brother who had graduated from Holy Name, that Bernard’s face was used by Brother Donald to settle old scores.

  24. John says:

    Al, that is not necessarily true that there are safeguards built into the system for accusations. Many times just the accusation ruins your life and than when proof is not forthcoming everyone walks away leaving the accused without his/her reputation. I am not defending anyone BUT I am very very concerned that we as a society are quick to accuse folks without any real evidence and than the accused still lives with the accusation as though it were fact. During the 80’s a lot of daycare centers were accused of child abuse. Subsequent investigation indicated no truth to accusations but the businesses went belly up and people were jailed etc. Where does one go to get ones reputation back when falsely accused. Officer Darren Wilson of the Ferguson P.D. is ruined,no job,no reputation etc. and he did absolutely nothing wrong but you would not know it given today’s media. I guess all I am trying to say is we have to be very cautious when accusing people of things so serious as abuse,rape etc.

    • Al says:

      John, all you say is true. Are there innocent people, wrongly convicted, behind bars this very minute even though they went through the criminal justice system? Are there guilty criminals who got exonerated? You and I know this is so. It’s an outrage but true. It’s the system we have.

      So what we have is an imperfect system created by men in an imperfect world, carried out by imperfect, harried players. Not perfect but it’s the human condition. Plenty of work for the next generation to work on.

      Not an easy issue to resolve, but I’m inclined to follow the research and wisdom of the best minds on this matter, psychiatrists and psychologists, who repeatedly emphasize that abusers are incredibly clever and secretive, the abused are shamed at such a deep level that most never reveal their secrets, or often aren’t even consciously AWARE of their repressed hurt. It often takes years of therapy to uncover it, or a person may suddenly, in their fifties have an epiphany that makes the connection.

      One of my personal growth gurus, the famous developmental psychologist and therapist, John Bradshaw, has nailed it. He essentially took all the experts’ research, in various fields, and put it all together in an understandable way. He’s written books and produced videos. Check him out. I did.

      Good luck.

  25. Mudge says:

    It seems scandals get more attention then normal or nice blogs this is the 27th. blog in this particular title. I guess being a JOKER had its up side Iam proud of being one. My wife and some of my think Iam nuts I wear a cap that says JOKERS just like it was and old school cap. well it kind of is. Thats where I learned about life and people Ive been happy all my life with the exception of a few sad days when I lost people close to me. Iam very glad I chose this road.Iwish I would have learned to type and spell better but what the hell.

Leave a Reply

