HAMILL, BRESLIN AND FENTON

As a writer, I am always looking for inspiration.

Growing up in Windsor Terrace it’s not hard to find material to write about. And it helps to have other writers to read (both good and bad) to be inspired to write.

Pete Hamill

Have a look at some outstanding work by our guy Pat Fenton.

Click the link below for a wonderful piece in the Irish Echo on a documentary they are putting together about Pete Hamill and Jimmy Breslin.

http://irishecho.com/2016/04/a-sunday-afternoon-in-farrells/

This entry was posted in Jimmy Breslin, Pat Fenton, Pete Hamill, Windsor Terrace and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to HAMILL, BRESLIN AND FENTON

  1. BL says:

    Two days before my father Mikey Lang had a heart attack that ultimately led to his passing, he hopped in his car and headed up to the Avenue. He loved to do this. Poke in Farrell’s B.S . With the boys pulling the stick. He would walk the avenue liked he never left. I guess we all do when we go back. I’m glad my father got to go back, it was as if he knew it would be his last. BTW the ” Drinking Life ” is as close to a manifesto for all of us who grew up in the neighborhood.

    • Pat Fenton says:

      I grew up with your father, BL, on 17th Street. Spent time with him watching him fly pigpens .He was a wonderful man, a hard worker who learned how to drive trucks when he was very young .I remember a morning when I hadn’t seen him for a few years, and I was back in Windsor Terrace to have lunch with my sister Eileen, and I was going to walk down to Vanderbilt Street where she lived in an apartment. building near the park. I was standing in front of where Joe Ryan’s Shamrock Bar used to be, on 9th Avenue and 17th Street, calling her on my cell phone, when I saw your father crossing the avenue. I called out to him as I caught up with him, and he just turned and looked at me as if I had falling out of the sky. as if decades of time had never passed, and we were both young again. “Walk me down to the hardware store, Pat, I have to get a key chain.” And I fell in beside of him and the two of us walked down 9th Avenue again together. I’m glad I got to do that. I thought about that recently when I went down to his wake.

      • Pat Fenton says:

        My spell check failed me. (Flying pigeons, not pigpens. Well, what the hell, that’s what happens when you only have a G.E.D. What Chris Rock calls, “a good enough diploma.”)

      • Steve says:

        Patrick,

        All good my friend. We don’t judge here at CD.

        Did you know before Rock dropped out he attended Madison HS? Same school as Bernie Sanders.

        Keep up the great work my friend – you’re an inspiration!

      • Steve says:

        Great story…

  2. Jim casey says:

    Terrific writing
    Thanks, Steve.

  3. Dan Mahoney says:

    Great article by Pat! Also Seeing the cover above of “The Drinking Life” brings back some memories of going to the Giants games with the some of the boys from Timbos bar. One of them plays a prominent role in a chapter from the book “A Drinking Life.”. Joe Farrell’s uncle went to the Giants games with us back in the day. Joe’s uncle was none other than Noona Taylor. We all just called him “Uncle”.
    Noona evidently was legendary for being able to handle himself as one of the toughest people in the neighborhood. He never told such stories to me and Joe but plenty of people always had a story regarding Noona. I just remember a quiet, decent guy that liked to have a pop with his buddy Tommy, Artie Rice and his friends.

    Hey coach on another note, Congratulations on your teams great success this past season as well as you being named Coach of the year. You deserve it!

    • Steve says:

      Danny,

      Great story. Thanks for sharing. Also, thanks for the congrats. We have a great group of kids.

      Noona was the man. When my father brought me down Timboo’s on Saturday afternoon’s, I always saw Noona – he was always nice to me.

  4. Thomas J. McInerney says:

    Jimmy Who? When mystic chords of memory transport me back to my youth – Holy Name and Farrell’s I am reminded of that member of the Bartender’s Hall of Fame Jimmy H. (Houli).

    In my altar boy days we simply carried our Surplice to Mass. The cassocks were already there.

    Those were indeed the days my friend. I thought they would never end.

    Tom McInerney

    • Jim casey says:

      And did your mom have to iron your surplice ?
      And did you carry it on a hanger so that it would not wrinkle ?

Leave a Reply

