A DAY IN THE LIFE

Was sent this info/request from a loyal reader of Container Diaries…
MICHAEL P. GRECO   10/22/53 – 3/10/07 
On numerous occasions I have been asked the whereabouts of Mike Greco who resided at 7 Prospect Park Southwest for many decades.
You might recall Mike as having one of the first 60’s band in the neighborhood, “Codas”,  in which Mike played guitar; with band mates David Ayd – guitar, Michael Golembeski, – drums and Joe “Head ” – lead vocals.
Mike passed away on March 10, 2007 in Elmhurst, Queens
R.I.P. Mike….we will miss you & all you need is love.
-Forever Young
This entry was posted in Blog, Michael Greco and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A DAY IN THE LIFE

  1. Tony16ST says:

    Great guy RIP. I think if I look real hard I may have one of their Gold cards with metal flake. that they used to hand out.

  2. JM says:

    RIP Michael Greco. PS -The drummer’s name was Michael Golembeski and the lead singer was Joey Kudlick.

  3. Kathy G. says:

    RIP Michael Greco. All the girls remember him as being “so cute!” By the way, the drummer for the Codas name is Michael Golembeski, not Gambowski.

  4. Tony16ST says:

    And Kathy G. would know because that was her Big Brother.

    Hi Kathy hope all is well.

  5. Al Powers says:

    The store in the photo has changed hands many times…I remember it as our local grocery store “Hayes & Keys”. My family shopped there for years and I remember that they kept a book of what you owed them. One of those black and white marble notebooks like we used in HN. Also they would add up what you bought on the brown paper bag. I don’t think we will ever see a small store again let you ring up a tab. Ahhh the good old days.

    • Red says:

      Al,

      Good stuff.

      • Ed Keyes says:

        Great post Al, really got my memory “files” going. I remember the notebook, just as you describe. Do you remember the wagon with big steel wheels with the name “Hayes and Keyes” on it that was used for delivery of “orders” of groceries ? All the best, Ed

  6. Maureen Rice (Flanagan) says:

    Al, we had the same thing with Nemnom’s on 8th Ave between 12th and 13th…the grease pencil on the brown bag….the “book” I remember once going in with a friend, putting Ring Dings and Devil Dogs on the counter, telling Mr Nemnom..”my mother says put this on the book”…He just looked at me, kindly…and said…”are you SURE?”…giving me that moment to do the right thing..I remember being so embarrassed and putting them back, but it would have been so much worse had he called me out for it….

  7. Gerard clifford says:

    This picture brings back some of the best memories of my life my name is Gerard Clifford i lived at 419 16 street even though I did not attend holy name most of my friends and a few girlfriends did so thanks to whoever set up this site and to all who use it thanks for the memories.

    • Steve says:

      Yo Gerard, how you doin’ bro! It’s me, Red!

      • Gerard Clifford says:

        Red great to hear from you doing ok miss all my friends from slope been away so long saw pictures you posted brought back so many memories would love to get together ive been gone 25 years.seeing the faces of people I grew up with reminds me how lucky i was to be apart of the park slope family.

      • Steve says:

        I’ve been outta there 20 years…

        It’s a different neighborhood now.

        Those were the days my friend.

Leave a Reply

