NINETEEN-SEVENTY

While doing a bit of research I came across the events from the year 1970; boy oh boy!

I was 6 years old at the time.

It was the first time I walked into the boys schoolyard at Holy Name. (Christmas morning)

1-Kent State shootings

2-Vietnam – Nixon sends home thousands of tropps

3-Vince Lombardi died

4-Jimi Hendrick died

5-Janis Joplin died

6-Knicks win championship over Lakers (“Win it for Willis”)

7-Apollo 13 launched but they brought it back.

8-First NYC marathon

9-Monday Night Football – first game

10-Tom Dempsey kicks a 63-yard field goal with half a foot

11-Two college football teams (Wichita State and Marshall) have their planes crash.

12-AFL-NFL merge

13-Maurice Stokes dies

14-Paul left the Beatles

WOW!

What a year…

Number one song was “Bridge over Troubled Water.”

Red

Hoops135@hotmail.com

This entry was posted in 1970, Blog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to NINETEEN-SEVENTY

  1. Emmett Hoops says:

    I was 11 on May 24, 1970. It was the best year of my life. Very many of my most profound memories date from that year. I remember WOR, lowly channel 9, relegated to playing re-runs, proudly announcing “Channel Nine…the Station of the Seventies!” along with some spacey music. What to expect? Well, it just sounded so damn futuristic. 19seventy! Whoa. And just as soon as it seemed everything was new, it was old. Drugs, war, protest, kids across the street in the lots sniffing glue out of paper bags, the familiar stench of derelict cars burning in the 16th Street/PPSW circle (yes, the Dept of Sanitation used to keep their derelict cars there, on the street.) So nothing was really new, nothing was different.

    Not even Channel 9, the station of the 70s.

  2. Mudge says:

    Bridge over trouble waters is one of my all time favorits I put it right up there with my doo wops. Which I love more then any thing.

  3. larosa52 says:

    Last year I played with all my cousins for pioneer football. Great sports year all around

  4. Maureen Rice (Flanagan) says:

    I was a cheerleader for the Pioneers..we used to have the after-game parties in a post on 6th Ave across from the library…but I am pretty sure it was before 1970…maybe 67..

  5. Tony16ST says:

    The 17th Street uprising, summer of 1970

  6. Mike Bove says:

    Hey Tony. Don’t incriminate yourself.

  7. Tony16ST says:

    Mike The Statute of limitation apply here. I’m good

  8. Mudge says:

    I remember some people were saying Dempsey had an unfare advantage because he had a flat surfice instead of toes.

  9. Gerard Clifford says:

    Is this the red I grew up with on 16 street my name is Gerard Clifford

Leave a Reply

