SUICIDE

A couple of days ago a young lady in our high school took her own life.

She was a freshman.

14, maybe 15 years old. Sad man, just sad.

I’m not sure why she did this. We’ll never know actually. But it broke my heart when I heard the news.

Her family has to be devastated. Our students are stunned. Shocked.

As a father of a 16 year-old daughter, the death hit home.

I knew the young lady. She always had a smile on her face. As I compose this entry, I am fighting back tears.

Suicide is a complex issue. Everyone has an opinion on it.

Who really knows what people are going through?

Everyone has problems.

No one is immune to them.

We can never tell what our friends or family are going through.

Suicide is often carried out as a result of despair, the cause of which is frequently attributed to a mental disorder such as depression, bipolar disorder, schizophrenia, borderline personality disorder,[1] alcoholism, or drug abuse,[2] as well as stress factors such as financial difficulties, troubles with interpersonal relationships, and bullying

I found the above content on Wikipedia. I know it’s hard for someone to talk about these problems.

We keep things bottled up. Sometimes it’s too embarrassing for one to discuss what is going on. There’s shame. Call it what you want. But something has to be done.

I wish the young lady that took her life would have talked to someone. I wish someone knew that she was struggling.

There’s help.

Always someone willing to listen.

If you know someone who has talked of suicide, please do something. Don’t just sit there and do nothing. If you notice someone acting differently, speak up.

Life is tough, but we have to do all we can to stick it out.

We have to fight. We can’t let problems lick us. Gotta fight!

Bottom line is we have to work hard to get through our problems – and we need each other.

We can do it. Gotta band together.

I know it’s easier said than done, but we need to pull together and help.

As a group we can defeat suicide.

-Red

Hoops135@hotmail.com

 

This entry was posted in Bishop Ford High School, Blog, Lafayette High School, New Utrecht High School and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to SUICIDE

  1. GT says:

    Well said Red.

  2. Mudge says:

    It never goes away it easers with time but every once in awhile it pops into your mind and you feel just as bad as you do right now I lost a nephew who was like a son You keep thinking was there somthing you could of done. I hate to be barer of bad news but you will carrie it the rest of your life. How I deal with it I just think that Iam. happy to know him for as long as I did My heart is with you

  3. bob terry says:

    I wish I had answers for this problem, but I don’t even have questions. It is so complicated. For three years, I was chairman for The Center for Reflective Parenting, which came out of UCLA Medical. We trained people in the mental health field. I was the only person in this organization, who was not a psychiatrist or psychologist. Why they asked me onto the board and subsequently made me the chairman baffles most people. It was a real eye opener for me to fully appreciate the state of mental health. Our society needs to recognize that the mental health of children needs to be addressed, but, first we must cherish the lives of children. In the meantime, I will pray for the soul of this young lady and her family.

  4. Emmett Hoops says:

    Suicide is in every human culture. It is one of the most enduring, least understood phenomena of our existence.

    We see people engaging in suicidal behavior every day. People continue smoking cigarettes, though everyone knows it’s like playing Russian roulette. People you’ll see in any bar, every single day, destroying their bodies. People driving on the BQE without a seatbelt on. The 25% of drivers who, on any Friday night, are legally intoxicated. People who hate incessantly: the xenophobes, the racists, those whose anger acts like a hand grenade in the heart.

    Freud called such behavior a “death wish.” It’s in all of us, to one degree or another. Who’s to say that a chain-smoking 18-beer-a-day drinker isn’t just as surely killing himself as a person with a gun to his head and a desire to pull the trigger?

    What is it that makes us behave like this? I wish I knew. Or maybe we all do know it, and we’re afraid of the answer.

    I tell my second graders every now and then that we are living in the best days of human history. It’s true, too: all the things that people in the past wanted to do differently, we’re doing now. We’re the beneficiaries of millennia of wishes. Yet we’re still plagued with doubt, disillusionment, and disappointment.

    We need to start with ourselves and our families. Confucius saw the family as the place where our behavior most closely affects the social order; thus the way to improve society and the way to add to social harmony is to act on oneself. Think about how we treat members of our own families and act on that.

    Suicide is especially tragic because it affects everyone, not just the devastated immediate family. We all feel as if we’ve been told that all our suffering and bearing up under difficulty has been for naught. We stop and reassert our love of life, yet there is a nagging fear that we, too, might be susceptible to the temptations of an upcoming exit ramp.

    My most sincere condolences go out to everyone who knew this girl.

  5. Gerard clifford says:

    Red you are so right we have to pull together and help,people who chose suicide feel there is no way out but to kill themselves.and Emmett you bring great insight many people commit what I call slow suicide,either drinking or smoking themselves to death not eating right.we have to reach out to one another, one simple act of kindness can
    Make all the difference.

Leave a Reply

