THAT’S WHAT FRIENDS ARE FOR…

The power of the Internet.

Some are hesitant to embrace it, some, like me, love it.

I hear adults complain about today’s kids all the time. I have heard our kids called, “The Gadget Generation.”

I’m cool with that. Add me to that group.

“GET OFF THAT PHONE!”

“STOP PLAYING VIDEO GAMES!”

“DON’T TEXT, CALL INSTEAD.”

You get the point, right?

I’m here to tell you that Container Diaries has been a big part in getting people from the neighborhood back in touch with each other. (Also, the people who I have met here like Maureen Rice, Tony F., Frankie P. and Billy Mudge.)

Hooking back up happened to me. That’s right, just last week someone found the blog, grabbed my e-mail address and reached out. This person was a great friend. We did so much together. had lots of fun.

It’s been a blast writing back and forth about our time growing up.

God I miss those days. Don’t you wish just once, we can go back, back into time? What I would do to be standing on the corner of Windsor and Ninth. To be able to hang out on the parkside with all my friends. Most of all, to be back in that boys schoolyard at Holy Name. Dribbling my basketball and shooting it up to the rim.

And last but not least, to be with the one you love. Holding hands, kissing, feeling safe because you are with that special someone.

To be young once again…I would trade anything for it.

And of yeah,  I’m happy for the Internet. I use it non-stop.

By the way, my communication skills are fine.

-Red

Hoops135@hotmail.com

This entry was posted in Friends and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to THAT’S WHAT FRIENDS ARE FOR…

  1. celtic7 says:

    The internet is invaluable.
    But you may have second thoughts about texting if you had to constantly stop your students, even college ones, from the addiction of texting.

  2. jimmyvac says:

    Steven,
    Can’t agree more. Am friendly now with people I did not know too well back in the day because back then 4-5 year age gap was huge. Thanks again for this wonderful venue…

  3. Mudge says:

    I can not begin to tell you how much I enjoy this blog there was a young girl I knew her name was Jeanne De,luca she went to St. Saviors high school and lived on 6th. St. She had the most beatiful face to this day I have ever seen many times things that aresaid in this blog bringher to mind and I thank you for it.. Also talking back and forth with you and many others is the best thing thats happen to me in a long long.time KEEP IT GOING

  4. Maureen Rice (Flanagan) says:

    I have “met” some wonderful people via this blog and FB..some, even in the real world..but, I have to say, my online community has been invaluable in bad times…and lagniappe in good times…on CD, I see the names of people in neighborhood families, some of whom I don’t know, but know that their sister was in my sister’s class, etc..the Holy Name FB page is also wonderful for reminding us of what a great neighborhood we come from…thanks again for all your efforts re this site…and I love the stories…..

  5. TFasano16 says:

    I don’t do the Face Book thing,or Twitter. I’m of the belief, if some one is really trying to find me I don’t think it would be so hard. On the other hand if it wasn’t for this site I wouldn’t have connected with some of my buds from the past.

  6. Mudge says:

    Tony when we going to hook up.

    • Tony16ST says:

      Mudge,
      i got your number I will try to call you soon sowe can get together and I can buy you a cup of Joe and shoot the shit..

Leave a Reply

