CONGRATULATIONS

Heard some outstanding news late last week. Childhood friend, Kevin Molloy, originally from Howard Place informed me his daughter has accepted a Cross-Country/Track scholarship to Iona College. 

Atta boy Kevin…nice job.

If you are not aware, former Windsor Place resident Jerry Cole is an Iona alum. He too ran for the Gaels.

Good luck Miss Molloy!

Keep on running…

-Red

Hoops135@hotmail.com

This entry was posted in Kevin Molloy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to CONGRATULATIONS

  1. Kevin Molloy says:

    Thanks Red, I hope all my friends can come out and support her at some of her meets at the Armoury on 168st a very nice venue and during cross country season at Van Cortlandt park in the Bronx! Go Gaels! I’ll keep you posted.

  2. Jerry Cole says:

    Congrats Kevin. Great school and a fantastic track & field program to boot. The women’s team at Iona is very good. Iona had won 10 straight MAAC conference titles before losing this year’s race. This XC season was tough as their top runner (Kate Avery the 2014 NCAA Cross Country champion) opted to turn pro and did not return. Still they are young and I think that your daughter can be part of their return to the top of the MAAC FYI, Iona’s Men’s XC squad has won 25 straight conference titles and just finished 5th at the NCAA Championships this past weekend.

    Go Gaels indeed!

    Jerry Cole Iona ’83

  3. Jerry Cole says:

    Steve, I am very proud of my time with the Gaels. And yes, I did run for the Iona as a freshman but later turned my eyes towards soccer for the remainder of my college career. Kevin, get up there this winter and watch the Gaels hoops squad while you are at it. They will remind you of the old summer league days with their run & gun offense. Unfortunately, you will have to bring your own container. LOL!

  4. Kevin Molloy says:

    Jerry, I see you keep up to date with your alma mater . It’s a great program and we love the coaches. I definetly plan on getting to some basketball games, hopefully Hannah can score me some tickets over the next for years. And I’m gonna be stocking up on my Iona Dad sweatshirts, tee shirts and hats:)

  5. Jerry Cole says:

    Best of Luck to Hanna, Coach Santos has done a fantastic job keeping the Gales in the Top 10 ranked programs in the country. An amazing feat for a small school. Have a great holiday weekend.

Leave a Reply

