STREET CORNER KID

Corner of Windsor and 8th roof

This entry was posted in 8th avenue, Windsor Place and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to STREET CORNER KID

  1. Emmett Hoops says:

    I see a street corner, but…
    The last time I visited Windsor Terrace (which was not called Windsor Terrace by anybody but real estate salespersons then), I saw no kids at all. It was a spring day, a Saturday in April, and it was warm and sunny. Nobody sitting on the stoop at my old place, 300 Windsor. Nobody on the sidewalk. The schoolyard at PS 154 locked and empty but for two cars. No “S” painted on the walls beneath the stairs. We crossed 11th Avenue; nobody on 11th. No football games between the “sewer covers.” (I once corrected someone, saying they were not sewer but manhole access covers, and never recovered from the resutlting ostracism, which is why you probably never heard of my family.)
    Then it occurred to me: there’s nobody on the street because if you live in Windsor Terrace now, there’s no way you can afford to have kids. My uncle lives in the neighborhood still, in a house he bought in 1974 for $48,000, and charges $2,400 a month for the third floor apartment, the penurious bastard. On my salary as a rural school teacher with 24 years of experience, I could pay that rent and have exactly $416 a month left over for everything else.
    I don’t know what it’s gonna take to make Brooklyn affordable again, but until it is, it won’t be the great place for kids that it was when I was growing up there.

    • Red says:

      Emmett you make a few good points for sure.

      It is expensive to live there. Not the neighborhood but I just read where a guy pays $1100 a month for 100 square feet. LOL

      Some people made some good decisions in terms of real estate. Some, well, some could not afford it any longer so they moved to Staten Island or Jersey.

      You right about the emtpty streets. Last three times I’ve been back I didn’t see any kids playing outside or hanging out.

      $2400 a month for an apartment huh? Jesus Christ that’s a lot.

      My last address was on 11th avenue between Prospect and Sherman, think I paid $1700 – that was back in 1996.

      Your uncle got a good thing going.

  2. Mudge says:

    I know I asked you once befor where did you you take this picture from .

  3. Mudge says:

    He must have been on top of Ho;y Name School

Leave a Reply

