RIP BENGIE

Bobby's book

Bobby Powers

Marine Park Funeral Home…

Monday, August 24. 6PM-9PM

Tuesday August 25. 2PM-5PM. 7PM-9PM

Mass at Holy Name…

Wednesday August 26.  10AM on 8/26.

This entry was posted in Bobby Powers, Brooklyn and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to RIP BENGIE

  1. Mudge says:

    Iam. broken hearted Bengie was one of the guys I always worried about when trouble came he was always at your side. My best to Salty and his family Icould go on and on about the things we went through if anyone would like to talk about them I would be glad to go dicusse on a o0ne to onebasis. Love Mudge your freind

  2. Maureen Rice (Flanagan) says:

    Marine Park Funeral Home..8/24. 6-10. 8/25. 2-5…7-9….Mass at Holy Name 10am on 8/26..

  3. Mike Hanratty says:

    RIP Bobby. God Bless.

  4. Maureen Rice (Flanagan) says:

    Oops..I made a mistake. Is 6-9pm on Monday

  5. Willy Wickham says:

    RIP Bengie.

  6. Pat Fenton says:

    One of the last times I saw Bengie in person (it was at his brother Frankie’s wake in Staten island, a few years ago. ) he said to me, “Pat, I’m tired of ordering a slice, I want to be able to order a whole pie once in awhile. Know what I mean?” And I did..

  7. Pat Fenton says:

    On a more serious note, Steve. I was down in the neighborhood today with some actors I’m working with. And as I walked by Bengie’s stoop on 8th Avenue , I stopped and blessed myself.

    • Red says:

      Good man…

      By the way, how much has the neighborhood changed?

      Amazing…

      At least the Mets and Yankees still playing well.

  8. Mudge says:

    I went to Bengies wake last night it was crowded but I did not reckonize any one I guess its true you can’t go back. Ithought about it for awhile and came up with the thought . If Bengie came to my wake he wouldent know any body ether . Thank you Bengie for being a freind when I needed one

    • Red says:

      Sorry to hear you didn’t recognize anyone Mudge.

      When I get back to the neighborhood and I walk the streets I once spent many hours on, I don’t recognize anyone either.

      Oh well.

      Times change. Faces change.

  9. Maureen Rice (Flanagan) says:

    I couldn’t make the wake, but I went to the Mass this morning..I did know almost everybody, but not from the neighborhood..mostly from the recovery community that I shared with Bobby P for many years..it was so hard for me to get used to calling him Bobby, rather than Bengie, but he said that Bengie was gone..and Bobby was a different person..although they inhabited the same body…and, it was true…he really did change his life…and, perhaps he could not make amends to people in the neighborhood that he wronged..but many, many years of his life were spent in service to others..and he helped litereally thousands of people start their journey of recovery…

    • Red says:

      Maureen,

      It’s not how you start, it’s how you finish.

      I’m sure he did some bad things when he was younger (and people are angry) but the guy turned his life around and was in the business of helping others.

  10. Mudge says:

    The only people he angerd were his customers.

  11. Mudge says:

    Iam. sorry that Bobby Powers feels Bengie is gone thats the guy I liked.

Leave a Reply

