WIN, PLACE AND SHOW

In the youth sports world there’s a buzz about participation trophies.

A pro football player took back his sons trophies because he felt they didn’t deserve them.

What do you think?

I believe the kids are 6 and 8.

Google James Harrison, Pittsburgh Steelers.

Should a kid receive a trophy for participating?

HBO Real Sports did a special on this a few weeks ago. They had some interesting comments.

In one league in California they give kids trophies just for signing up.

This entry was posted in Loser, Winner and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to WIN, PLACE AND SHOW

  1. Joe S. says:

    A “participation trophy” something the parent/ guardian pays for in the league fees.

  2. Kevin Mahoney says:

    The baseball/softball league my kids play in gives participation trophies up until 8 years old, which seems like a good age cutoff to me. After the age of 8, they have playoffs with only the champs getting trophies, so there is actually something for the kids to compete for. I think you should try to to make the experience as fun as possible for very young kids, which includes trophies, to help cultivate an interest in the sport.

    • Red says:

      A cut-off age is good Kevin.

      How about giving the kid a baseball or a bat or something? Give them some stirrups? Cleats? Something that will “whet” their appetite.

  3. TonyF16 says:

    I personally think giving a kid a trophy/medal for participating is a lie. We are not motivating them we are rewarding them for doing nothing, for not achieving. What valuable lesson did the kids learn if they get what everyone else gets.

    Also you are selling your kid short. They are not idiots, they know that losing sucks and it’s not a good feeling. In their hearts of hearts bottom line. They want to win

    I was always taught not that it’s whether you win or lose but that you are playing to win. No one wants to lose everyone wants to win. Practice doesn’t make perfect. Perfect practice make perfect

    Sports and teamwork prepare you for life. You don’t wake up and say I want to get a job and be paid a $2,000.00 a week and I have no education or experience or anything but that is what I want. You must go to school and work hard and in most cases get in on the ground floor and work your way up. No one gets rewarded for doing nothing. It’s a lie.

    More importantly we need to teach the kids how to accept losing and not getting down about it and not let it stand in the way of their goals to achieve.

    Unfortunately in life there are winners and there are losers. The kids know it. I just don’t know why the adults don’t

  4. TonyF16 says:

    Thank you, yes I did

  5. George Farrell says:

    Sure give them all trophies and attendance medals too. Advance them to the next grade in school even though they are not ready. To flunk a class is too humiliating for little junior so let’s keep moving him along until he graduates from grammar school while reading at third-grade level. Same in high-school until we wind up with a nation of slackers and narcissists. Then, when little junior cannot find meaningful employment or hold a job, let him play the victim card. Real life is tough and you will not get by armed only with your little participation medals and meaningless diplomas.

  6. TonyF16 says:

    Half/Half, One sugar

  7. Mudge says:

    I have two trouphies at home about 6 inches tall I received for banging heads with guys the size of small buildings. I received them for championships when I was 25 and 26 years old I have been coaching youth teams and high school teams for over 55 years and not one kid in all those years received a trouphie smaller then ether one of them. I never understood it . But I never paid much attention . I just loved coaching so much I just never said anything

  8. Mudge says:

    In second thought when I think back on it I would really like would be a roster of each of those teams I was allways proud ofplaying for them win lose or draw

  9. DON C says:

    Team trophies have always been around. My pet peave is T-BALL. I helped coach my kids in t-ball. Each kid gets up, hits the ball off a tee and runs to first. Next kid does the same and the kid on first goes to second. This continues until everyone gets up and moves one base at a time. At one point a ground ball rolls to the second baseman who makes a nice play and throws it to first and gets the batter out.(remember 7 years old). I tell the batter he has to return to the bench and another coach says “No we leave him on first. We can’t let them be out it will make them feel bad”
    What exactly are we teaching the kids if they do not learn the rules or how to deal with being”out”

  10. Mudge says:

    I ve. seen games like this my grandson plays in Staten Island With rules like this. He is bored stiff and amost quit this year. But this year my son says they are playing by rules of running bases scoreing runs making outs. I am exited cant wait .

Leave a Reply

