WHERE THE BOYS ARE

USA. New York City. 1959. Brooklyn Gang.

USA. New York City. 1959. Brooklyn Gang.

This entry was posted in 1959, Bruce Davidson and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to WHERE THE BOYS ARE

  1. Willy Wickham says:

    A great shot. I recognize four of them, front l-r Jimmy Wares, Bengie Powers, Lefty Jensen, and Roger Moore. Standing behind Roger Moore might be Junior Rice, but Maureen will have to verify that.

    • Red says:

      Thanks Willy. We need Pat Fenton on here to I.D. some of these cats.

      What a great photo!

      Wonder where that was taken?

      • Willy Wickham says:

        You know I was thinking the same thing, Red. That wall? Davidson took some other shots of them at Coney Island and that’s where it might be.

      • Red says:

        The reason why they took the pictures at Coney Island?

        Did they like hanging out down there?

        Pics from the hood would have been cool.

    • Gladys Mastrion says:

      Willy, isn’t that Skippy Kane standing behind Jimmy Wares?

    • Maureen Rice (Flanagan) says:

      yes..that is Junior…:)

  2. Joan (Ferraro) Hanvey says:

    Michael John Galvin (in back of Roger Moore to the L), Joey Douglass (in the back at the end), and Anthony (I forget his last name. He lived on 17th St. In the Pesce’s house off 8 th Ave. A photo of him looking out of his window on the 2nd floor with the Pesce’s grandmother looking out from the 1st floor appeared sometime ago in this site and I remember identifying him at that time but unfortunately my memory is dimming. I was around 13 yrs old then.)

  3. Mudge says:

    Yes thats Jr. Rice next to him is Douglas and in front of him is Pety Canali. and this is definetly not coney island.

  4. Mudge says:

    The Jokers hung out all summer at bay 22 in coney

    • Red says:

      Mudge,

      Why did they hang out down there on Bay 22?

      What was their means of transportation from the neighborhood to Coney Island?

  5. Willy Wickham says:

    Red,Sometimes someone had a car but usually it was the Coney Island bus all the way to the last stop. No air conditioning in buses then so it could be a brutal ride, but who cared?
    Once Tommy Lenehan had a small car, maybe a Rambler, and gave about 6 of us a ride home along with his wife and 2 kids. It looked like a college student stunt already when Joey Corrar demanded in. Tommy told him that the only way he would ride would be in the trunk, which he did with it closed on a hot day all the way back. He was singing back there.

    • Red says:

      That bus! Oh my God. I recall taking it to the beach with my mother and sister. Oh boy was it hot. The windows would be wide open too.

  6. Joan (Ferraro) Hanvey says:

    OMG. That’s right. I got Peter Canali mixed up with Anthony V. who had no connection with them. I somehow knew when I said Anthony it didn’t sit right with me. The golden years: my poor brain cells. To think not too long ago I knew Peter’s name. He did,however, live on 17th St. in the same house as my girlfriend. Anyway, during that time we all went to Bay 22 outside of Seagate from the old neighborhood. Maybe it was just kids from our area who went there. We never really thought of going to any other beach. We took the Coney Island Ave bus almost every day during the summer. Does this picture come from the same photographer? Also, we always thought of them as the junior jokers. Wasn’t there an older group before them who were the original jokers?

  7. Gladys Mastrion says:

    Jimmy Wares (first guy in the front) says the picture was taken on 8 Ave.

  8. Joan (Ferraro) Hanvey says:

    Can Jimmy give the names of those guys who are yet to be identified. Also is there any info as to what became of them?

  9. Gladys Mastrion says:

    Joan I am friends with Jimmy Wares for many years, I will ask him who all the guys are, and if he knows what happened to them.

  10. Joan (Ferraro) Hanvey says:

    Thanks Gladys. I was around 12-13 yrs old then and use to go to Helen’s candy store for egg creams. When I got older I hung out in Lewny’s at the Circle. One of the jokers was a girlfriend’s brother and others were friends of friends just neighborhood kids.

    • Gladys Mastrion says:

      Joan, I lived on 17 st in Doctor Gardner’s house, next door to Pat Fenton. I was 11 that summer Bruce Davidson came around.

  11. Joan (Ferraro) Hanvey says:

    WOW! We’re about the same age. It’s nice to hear from another old timer on this site filled with the young ones. You lived above 9th Ave I think and that was considered the better side! Such fond memories of the neighborhood.

    • Red says:

      Joan, I lived on Windsor Place and Ninth avenue. When we walked from Prospect Avenue to Bishop Ford, there was always a different feeling.

      Trying to find the right words.

      (:

    • Gladys Mastrion says:

      This comes from BoBo Caruso: Joan ferraro did she live on Prospect ave?
      Top row Tony vealo, Brain McGill, , mikey Gaven, Junior rice, Joey douglas.
      Botton row Jimmy Wares, Benji powers, Lefty Jensen, Roger Moore, Pee wee cassidy. Petey cannelle. Far as I know Mikey gaven, Junior rice, Lefty Jensen have passed. Bo.

  12. Joan (Ferraro) Hanvey says:

    Hi Gladys, Thanks for the names. It saddens me to know that Michael John Galven passed away. He was the brother of my girlfriend from Holy Name. They lived on Prospect Ave closer to the church off 9th Ave. while I lived off 8th. I’m from 430 Prospect Ave. We just moved to Florida and I heard from Laraine Guerra who lived on 15th Street that BoBo who was from the Lewny’s crowd lives down the block from us. Hi BoBo!

Leave a Reply

