OVER THE HILLS AND FAR AWAY

Thanks to Martin C. for this fanastic image of people on Cherry Hill.

I was more of a Three Devils and Suicide Hill guy.

Cherry Hill

This entry was posted in Cherry Hill and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to OVER THE HILLS AND FAR AWAY

  1. TonyF16 says:

    There was another hill I don’t think it had a name. It was the back side of 3 devils and it was a horror. you had to dodge trees and it basically went straight down and if you had real good momentum you would wind up on the lake.

    No helmets, safety gear of any kind, Shit I remember going down with a piece of cardboard.

    What the hell were we thinking? Hell I guess were wern’t thinking at all LOL

    But we sure had a lot of fun. Then off to Wetters for a hot chocolate and a chocolate cream doughnut or english muffin

  2. Kevin Mahoney says:

    Monument Hill was my favorite, you could really pick up speed on the way down.

  3. TonyF16 says:

    Your right Steve, no supervision at all. And for the most part we all came trough and survived. It’s funny because I can’t remember really wanting my Father around or my older sisters. I liked being on my own.

  4. JudyB says:

    I remember my Mom telling me that a young fellow, home from the Korean war, was sledding down Suicide Hill with his little brother. He crashed into a tree and was killed. That would have been the late 50’s. Going into the park at the Vanderbilt street entrance, we always call it Lookout Mountain. Recently I learned that Lookout Mt./Hill was created from the dirt removed when creating Prospect Park lake. I haven’t researched it to find out if it is true.

  5. TonyF16 says:

    Tom Frasier If your out there. You are the neighborhood Historian. Any input on this?

Leave a Reply

