EMPTY HALLS

Empty Halls

Image | This entry was posted in Bishop Ford and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to EMPTY HALLS

  1. bob terry says:

    I can remember how excited everyone in the neighborhood was in 1962 when it opened; although, the first freshman class had to attend Loughlin for the first year. It was the go to school for Holy Namers.

    • hoopscoach says:

      Bobby,

      Lots of HN kids went to Ford…

      One of my first mistakes in life; I should have gone to Ford.

      Lived four blocks away.

      • bob terry says:

        I took the Vanderbilt Avenue bus to Cathedral @ Washington & Atlantic Avenues; we had school on Saturday. They closed that beautiful school (Brooklyn’s only Gothic building; now Cathedral condominiums) in 1983 & moved everyone to Elmhurst. Still is a wonderful school. It was Cathedral College when I attended (a six year program); now it’s Cathedral Prep. Vince Lombardi attended Cathedral.

  2. George Farrell says:

    Why did Ford close?

    • hoopscoach says:

      George,

      I believe Ford’s enrollment was down but maybe someone can dive deeper and explain.

      • bob terry says:

        It was lack of enrollment: a very sad commentary on the value that people place on a Catholic education. When I attended Holy Name, there were 1600 students there – it was free; in the 1970s, they started charging $150 a year tuition – you didn’t want to be standing in front of the exit when it was announced. By the 1990s, there were 150 students in Holy Name. Price is only an issue in the absence of value; once value is substantiated, the issue of price goes away. I guess that people just don’t understand the value of a Catholic education. I do; visit Bob Terry/Heart of Los Angeles. I’m paying 22 tuitions this year for children from Los Angeles’ underserved community to attend Catholic schools.

      • hoopscoach says:

        BOB,

        YOU’RE THE MAN!

        Appreciate your contribution to Container Diaries…

  3. George Farrell says:

    I am guessing that the dropoff in vocations in the 1970’s contributed to the need for tuition in HNS. That and the dropoff in church attendance after Vatican II meant fewer Sunday donations by the remaining faithful. In my eight years at HNS, I can remember only two lay teachers who taught the third and fourth grades (Miss Lynch and Miss Lynn)… All the other grades were taught by nuns or brothers. In high school we had one lay teacher and the rest brothers. The diocese did not have to meet a big payroll and this surely cut down on overhead. I guess this hurt Ford along with other Catholic schools.

    • hoopscoach says:

      George,

      Speaking of third grade and Miss Lynn and Miss Lynch, I had Miss Lynn as a teacher that year and boy was she tough. Some friends of mine had Lynch and they loved her.

  4. George Farrell says:

    Hey Coach…I can still hear Miss Lynn’s steely voice as I was caught acting the fool (again)…”Master Farrell, you are a complete blockhead!” Firm yet fair lady who was definitely in charge of the class. Great memories of those two wonderful women.

  5. Al Powers says:

    I had Miss Lynch in 3rd Grade as well. At one of my parent-teacher conferences Miss Lynch told my Mother that I might not make to college because I never had a clean handkerchief!! Miss Hubbard taught the other 3rd Grade class as well at that time. She always reeked of perfume.

  6. Don Cush says:

    Lynn and Lynch were sisters I believe

Leave a Reply

