“BROOKLYN HAS BECOME UNAFFORDABLE”

I’ve been out of Brooklyn for seventeen years (I still can’t believe it’s been that long).

Stores on 9th ave

When my wife and I left in the Spring of 1996, we were fed up with the rising cost of living in Brooklyn.

This article from the New York Times gives us a run down on other people who can’t afford it either.

“Brooklyn has become unaffordable,” said Victoria Hagman, the broker-owner of the Realty Collective, founded in 2005. “For normal, middle-class people with good credit, we used to be able to say, ‘We can find you something.’ ” Now, even in once working-class areas like Windsor Terrace, Kensington, Crown Heights and Bedford-Stuyvesant, she said, “people are priced out of purchasing and landlords are asking egregious numbers.”

This entry was posted in Affordable and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to “BROOKLYN HAS BECOME UNAFFORDABLE”

  1. Joe Hajjar says:

    Clearly this should be no surprise to anyone.You could see it coming from a mile away. Manhattan was out of reach in the sixties so it was inevitable. If you want to live in any city that’s not dying it is unaffordable. Writing from Austin it is impossible for newlyweds or young couples with children to afford a home anywhere near the city under $300,000. Of course ,out in the burbs, it is affordable . If it’s booming you pay. If it’s not doing well you can make a deal on a home, period. Supply and demand.

    • hoopscoach says:

      Thanks Joe.

      To rent an apartment in our old neighborhood is virtually impossible.

      Red

    • Kenny Whelan says:

      Joe – you are right. I see a lot of similarities between Austin and Brooklyn. Everybody wants to live here, and the neighborhoods are changing fast. Some of it good, some bad. The poor are being pushed out of the “inner” city to the suburbs where there is no mass transit, grocery stores, etc.
      “call a place paradise and kiss it goodbye”

      And we still need to get together for a beer – sorry that I had forgot.
      Kenny

      • hoopscoach says:

        Kenny, how’s the football team going to be at Texas this season?

      • Kenny Whelan says:

        Think they will win 8. As long as they show some intensity/desire which I think has been missing the past few years, I will be satisfied. Coach Strong kicked quite a few players off the team so they are not very deep at a few positions. First game is this Saturday against North Texas followed by BYU.

      • hoopscoach says:

        I like Coach Strong…

      • bob terry says:

        Hey Joe, Why don’t you go to those suburbs & open a grocery store; didn’t your dad have one in the neighborhood? By the way, this process of gentrification has been going on for years in lots of cities all over the country. It is really happening in Los Angeles. Joe, what do you hear from the guys?

  2. bob terry says:

    Pete Hamill used to call Brooklyn the sane alternative.

  3. Denise McNeely says:

    Would be very funny if it weren’t so sad. The very ones that caused this problem, are now complaining about it and moving to NJ. I feel sorry for NJ.

    • hoopscoach says:

      Denise,

      At first I was sad to leave Brooklyn. But you know what? When I realized there are other great places to live in this country, I got over it. I love where we live now. Sure I miss my friends. But I made more friends out here.

      No traffic. No garbage. Small-town feel. Great school. A little safer. No crowded trains.

      Not to say I dislike Brooklyn, I think it’s great and sure I miss it. Like they say, “it’s a great place to visit.” Not so sure I would want to live there.

      But then again, if I had the dough, maybe I’d buy a place somewhere on the avenue.

      Red

  4. Joe Kennedy says:

    Left Seeley Street in 1979–sold my father in laws house for $50,000.00. Three years ago same house was on the market for $1.5 million dollars.

    • Peter says:

      Incredible Joe, I don’t know how young people can get into the housing market, I’m sure wages haven’t gone up that much.

  5. bob terry says:

    Joe, Are we related? My mother was a Lacey & had relatives, I believe on her mother’s side of the family (Fitzsimmons) named Kennedy, who loved on Seeley St. or down that way.

  6. Kenny Whelan says:

    Steve – FYI, Joe Kennedy is my first cousin. He is retired FDNY (he was NYPD before that) and has been living in Hoosick Falls, NY for years.

  7. Don Cush says:

    Left 19th st in 1997 when I sold my mothers house for $159k. Today the house (wood and attached on both sides) goes for over 1 million. I miss the neighborhood a lot but I am happy on my acre here in North Carolina

  8. Peter says:

    Thanks Red, my dad’s favorite tv show was Rowan & Martin’s Laugh-In.

Leave a Reply

