THE MUSIC GOT ME

IMG_1931

As a kid living on ninth avenue, music was a big part of my life.

Mom would have the ultimate record collection and of course the 8-track cartridges scattered around the apartment.

My friends and I hung out on the street and someone always had a boom box.

Every bar in the neighborhood had a jukebox (except Farrell’s, but they got one now) I knew they would come around. As a twelve-year old I was feeding quarters into the Jukebox in Timboo’s playing ‘Spill that Wine’.

Besides wanting to play in the NBA, I wanted to be a rock star. I wanted to be a singer or a drummer. See Ringo Starr.

I studied song lyrics like an English major reads Moby Dick.  I pissed mom off because I sang too loud in the shower. Shoot, I would sing out on the streets like I was Mick Jagger.

Guess what? The music we listened to back in the 70’s and 80’s is easy to get, thanks to i-tunes, right?

But check this out, I have to give a special shout out to my main man Frankie Pa-Pa from Windsor and 8th for telling me about 101.1 CBS radio, New York’s Greatest Hits.

I logged on to their website, downloaded their app and I am blasting B.T.O, “Takin’ Care of Business.”

That song takes me back to my main man Phil McNiff.

You get up every morning
From your ‘larm clock’s warning
Take the 8:15 into the city

Old school baby…

Thanks Frankie…

Click the link below, hit the “Listen Live” button and go back, back into time.

-Red

Hoops135@hotmail.com

This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to THE MUSIC GOT ME

  1. Mudge says:

    IAM SADDEND BY THE TIMBO NEWS. A LOT OF GREAT MEMORIES SOME SAD MEMORIES BOBBY POLOCK BEING THE WORST. THANK YOU FOR MENTIONING SNOOPER ICAN SEE HIM DOING THE CHA CHA IN MY MIND ON A DIFFERENT NOTE BOUNCING THE BASKET BALL AVOIDING THE CRACKS . A GREAT DRILL IS DOING IT WITH A SPALDINE IT HELPS YOUR HAND TO BALL SKILLS

    • hoopscoach says:

      Mudge,

      It’s funny because we WOULD dribble and avoid the cracks. Great call my man. Nothing changes.

      Or, while I was dribbling to the schoolyard from our apartment, when someone would approach me, I would cross-over my dribble and blow by them like they were a defender. One lady from Howard Place looked at me like I was crazy.

      Red

Leave a Reply

