YO, LEFTY

Gail Goodrich

Image | This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to YO, LEFTY

  1. Jim F says:

    Is that. Jerry West right behind him?

  2. George Farrell says:

    Seeing Goodrich takes me back to the 1965 Final Four where Stumpy dropped 42 on Cazzie Russell and Michigan to win it all. As good as Bradley was (58 points in a meaningless consolation game) I always felt Goodrich deserved the MOP. Just my opinion.

  3. Jim Casey says:

    Goodrich did have 2 great games, as did Bradley, who probably got MOP since the 58 set a final four record

  4. Jim Casey says:

    Bradley shot 22-29, 14-15 ft, 17 rebounds, 4 assists in that 58 point game

    • George Farrell says:

      Jim, I agree that Bradley had a great Final Four and literally carried his team all the way to the Final Four. My point was that 58 points in a meaningless game where nothing was on the line, no pressure and probably not a whole lot of defense being played is a whole lot different than the pressure facing Goodrich when it was showdown time. To drop 42 points on a very good Michigan team to win it all was clutch to the max plus I feel that the MOP should come from a team that is in the finals. Just my opinion.

  5. Jim Casey says:

    George,
    Generally, I agree with most of your points. I was just giving the probable reasons Bradley got it. Plus he’ s my second favorite college player. First is the Big O.

    • hoopscoach says:

      My favorite college players of all-time.

      1-Magic Johnson
      2-Larry Bird

      • George Farrell says:

        1-Pete Maravich 2- Oscar Robertson 3- Magic 4- Bird 5- Doug McDermott. Honorable Mention: Kiki Clark (that’s for you Coach), Austin Carr, Lew Alcindor, Bill Walton, David Thompson. Biggest underachiever: Ralph Sampson.

  6. jimmyvac says:

    Gotta put Walton and David Thompson on that list. The 1976 Indiana team was the most dominant I ever saw.

  7. George Farrell says:

    Have an interesting hoops trivia question if anyone is interested. Who Am I: born and raised in Brooklyn, NY; attended a Brooklyn HS where for four years I tried out for the school basketball team and failed to make the roster; graduated without ever having played for my school; in my senior year in a Division One college I led the nation in scoring.

    • hoopscoach says:

      George,

      That is a great question; I do not know the answer. Hopefully no one cheats and uses Google.

      That’s a toughie.

      I can’t even guess. I was going to say Larry Fogle but he played his HS ball in Detroit.

      Damn…

Leave a Reply

