I GOT NEXT…

Me in the YardBoys schoolyard – H.N.S.

This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I GOT NEXT…

  1. Jim Casey says:

    Impressive backboard

  2. Jim Casey says:

    I’m not sure fiberglass was invented back in my day.
    Also, we said “winners”, not “I got next.”

    • hoopscoach says:

      Actually, if the yard was crowded we would say, “Who got next…” As I made my way around the city and would visit other schoolyards and parks, “who got next?” was very popular.

      “Do you have your five?”

      And if the guy who had next didn’t have his team, he would put you down.

      Pretty simple pick-up lingo.

  3. Jim Casey says:

    In the 50s and early 60s by far the most common game in the yard was 3 on 3
    Rarely was 5 on 5 played

  4. jim vackner says:

    I think we said both …..

    • George Farrell says:

      Schoolyard had small metal half-moon backboards back in the day with no nets. No way could you ever bank a shot on those backboards. Rarely ran full court…three on three half court was the usual game with winners playing on until they lost. That fence looks different too. I seem to remember more of cyclone kinda fence.

Leave a Reply

