W.T.F. DID SHE SAY?

I was born on tenth street between eight and ninth avenues, down the block from Prospect Park.

Our address was 665 – we lived in a really cool brownstone.  I recall mom taking us up the street to the 11th street playground almost every day.  When she wasn’t paying attention I’d run around to the bandshell, jump on stage and make-believe I was Mick Jagger. If you go to a playground today parents are all over their kids; Never taking their eyes off them. Can you blame them?

Things must have turned for the worse in 1969, because that’s when my father left our family.  It sucked because we had to move. I was going to leave all my friends behind. Down the block towards 8th avenue there was a family, The Basile’s; they were and still are to this day “good people.”

IMG_1609

Mom had a great relationship with a very nice couple from across the street. Antoinette and Dick were very nice to us, especially at Christmas time.  Instead of a gift they would give us a Christmas card with ten bucks inside.  When it got close to Christmas I always asked mom when they were coming over.  Antoinette and Dick had a huge pool table on the middle floor of their brownstone. You guessed it, we played a lot of pool.  I think that’s why I became such a good pool player at the age of ten. I can’t leave out all the Saturday’s I spent down at Timboo’s playing on their pool table in the back of the bar.

One day we were out on our stoop. Some of us were running around out on the street, Mom was sitting on the stoop. It was a pretty busy time of day, people were walking up and down the block.  Antoinette was walking out of her house.

“ANTONIETTE, HOW’S YOUR DICK?” mom screamed.

Everyone stopped dead in their tracks.

People were staring at my mother.

Antoinette looked embarrassed as I was too.

It was an awkward moment for sure.

Respectfully,

Red

Hoops135@hotmail.com

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to W.T.F. DID SHE SAY?

  1. jimmyvac says:

    LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. jimmyvac says:

    I think people yelled stuff to others back in the day that did not come out as intended….

  3. Jack Kelly says:

    Lol…a very funny story coach. God bless your Mom…and I’m sure when the initial shock wore off they all had a nice laugh about it 🙂

  4. jimmyvac says:

    My mom used to yell on Wednesdays in a very bad Italian accent,” Jimmy, it’s a Prince spaghetti day!!!”.. I wanted to crawl under a car…

  5. Jack Kelly says:

    Lol, That’s interesting coach and I guess we’ll never really know for sure 🙂

  6. Diane C. says:

    LMAO ! I could almost here your mother saying that too! God rest her soul

  7. Mudge says:

    I DECIDED TO CALL YOU HOOPS RED AND STEVE ARE OK . BUT WITH MY BROOKLYNESEHOOPS SOUNDS BETTER.GOING THREW THESE BLOGS . YOU AND FENTON AND I OUR PATHES MUST HAVE CROSSED HUNDREDS OF TIMES . AND YET WE REALY DID;NT MEET . THE SINGING GROUP I SANG WITH USE PRACTICE AT NAUSEUM ON THE PARK SIDE ON 11th.ST.ALSO IN THE SUBWAY STATION ON 8 th. AVE. AND 9 th.ST. ALSO HUNG OUT ON THAT CORNER.AS FOR PAT ALL THEMUTUAL FRIENDS WE SHARE AND SAME BARS WE HUNG OUT IN. AND THE TIMBOS CONNECTION WE SHARE. I AM. THINKING WE PROBLE TALKED TO ONE ANOTHER SEVERAL TIMES . JUST THINKING OUT LOUD.

Leave a Reply

