THE FIVE BALLS OF LIFE

This morning while going through some uplifting and motivating reading material, I came across a compelling and eye-opening metaphor from the CEO of Coca-Cola, Brian Dyson.

You have five balls that you will juggle in the air.

Spalding Rubber Ball

One ball is for work. One is for family, one for health, one for friends and the last ball is your spirit.

Work is a rubber ball – if you drop it, it will bounce back.

The other four balls are glass. Drop one of them they become scuffed, marked, nicked, damaged or shattered – never to be the same again.

Think about this for a minute.

I have worked so many jobs over the years. Whether I was fired or quit,  I always bounced back with some sort of employment. Jobs come and go.

My family is the best, I try to keep them high up in the air while I juggle. I love my wife and daughter to death.

Health is an important issue with me; I try to eat right and exercise as much as possible.

 

My friends are always there for me. Daily phone calls to or from Carl Manco of Sport Prospect on seventh avenue. And of course, I can’t forget about all my loyal readers of the blog. You guys and gals have been marvelous and most supportive.

Last but not least, my spirit. Every morning I start the day with my coffee and a quote then spend fifteen minutes reading uplifting material. Throughout the day I try to keep my spirits up.

How about it? Juggle the five balls of life and see how well you do. Do you have your priorities in order?

Respectfully,

Red

Hoops135@hotmail.com

This entry was posted in Five Balls of Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

