DONUTS ON THE AVENUE

My guy Frankie P. tells me Dunkin’ Donuts will move in where Smith’s used to be.

No more trips to fifth avenue now.

Dunkin Donuts

This entry was posted in Blog, Dunkin' Donuts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to DONUTS ON THE AVENUE

  1. Joe Hajjar says:

    I can’t believe with all the business minded people in the neighborhood that no one thought of ever buying the Smith’s Funeral Home. Common knowledge is that the funeral home business was consolidating and being bought out by the big guys. The neighborhood has changed because the long time residents don’t care enough to participate in commerce . Period. This stuff sold for a song and a dance and no one inside the neighborhood cared enough .

    • hoopscoach says:

      Joe,

      Very strong words…hoping someone can chime in. Good conversation starter, thanks my man.

      Maureen?

      Glenn?

    • Willy Wickham says:

      Many locals have lamented here the demise of Smith’s but I don’t believe any of them know how to embalm a body. It’s sad that the name only lives on down on Duffy’s canopy but the fact remains 9th avenue wasn’t doing good business. People are still dying but the sendoffs are frequently small, non-religious, and cremation. A funeral director really isn’t needed.
      Joe, it’s a dying business. Are you Louie’s son?

  2. Jack Kelly says:

    The yup’s are not thrilled about Duncan…..a few lamented to me already that they are not happy of a Duncan on the Ave……I imagine they would’ve been thrilled with a Starbucks though 🙂

    • hoopscoach says:

      Duncan is cool people.

      The yups you speak of will fit in. Hopefully they have free Wi-fi, then everyone will hang out there.

      Try the iced coffee…

  3. Pat Fenton says:

    Steve, Dunkin Donuts where Smith’s Funeral Home used to be? Why does that call up a surreal image in my mind? And Thomas Wolfe thought that he couldn’t “go home again.”

  4. Maureeen Rice (Flanagan) says:

    I would rather it be DD than Starbucks..but, as for the funeral home.. I don’t think people would have closed a successful business..I have to be honest, every time I went to a wake outside of Smith’s, the surroundings were more pleasant, there was usually parking etc..my sister and I were at a wake and remarked on how nice the funeral home was…BUT.. we were committed to Smith’s..(if needed) So many people have passed since Smith’s went out, and it is odd not to go there to say goodbye.. I am just not feeling Duffy’s..so, if need be, I am free to go out of the neighborhood.. I do feel for the families right now who cannot have their Funeral Mass at Holy Name….

  5. tony fasano says:

    Whats next WalGreens?

    • Glenn Thomas says:

      WalGreens is opening in March where the old Key food was on Prospect Ave and 11th Ave. The good news is that a new Key Food will open next to it and occupy 1/3 of that space. It will be great at least for the older folks so that they can get their groceries nearby again.

  6. Pat Fenton says:

    I don’t know how true it is, but I heard that as you walk into the new Duncan Donuts at the old Smith’s Funeral Home site, they are going to have a lectern with a small brass lamp over it, and you’ll write down your order here. It will be computerized. A message will flash, “sorry for your troubles”, and then you will receive an order number.

  7. Glenn Thomas says:

    I’m still up in the air about having that type of business on PPW which is the main business location in our neighborhood. I guess I am used to the old mom and pop stores. Let’s see how it goes. I’m reserving judgement. My parents who are up there in age love to go to the Dunkin’ Donuts on 9th St. and 5th Avenue. Now they can split their time between this place, the new Terrace Bagels Cafe, and the Windsor Cafe. I would have preferred a nice cafe but who am I to say? Hopefully it adds and not detracts from our area.

  8. tony fasano says:

    Unfortunately Glen it will detract, slowly but surely Mom and Pop businesses will be a thing of the past and the ave will never be as we knew it.

Leave a Reply

