SIDEWALK TALK

New York Times and Mallory Hagan, Miss America 2013. She lived on 17th street for a minute.

Hagen has an interesting comment:

I almost feel bad for people who are born and raised here because you’ll never understand how the outsider feels about New York City. People look at this place as a dream machine, as an opportunity to escape whatever their current reality is. They look at it like it’s magical. But people look at this place and dream about coming here. And people who have grown up here will never understand what that feels like.”

There is also mention of E.B. White’s Essay from 1949 “Here Is New York.” I’m going to try and track it down.

Respectfully,

Red

Hoops135@hotmail.com

This entry was posted in Blog, Mallory Hagan, New York and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to SIDEWALK TALK

  1. Willy Wickham says:

    While I have always understood why they come, she is right, I will never know how that feels. A pretty deep thinker for a Miss America.
    E. B. White’s awesome essay can be read here for free http://engl658-oconnell.wikispaces.umb.edu/file/view/White+on+NYC.pdf

  2. Frank papa says:

    As An “Outsider” I Have Never Been More Happy To LIve Anywhere Then I Am Here

  3. Maureen Rice (Flanagan) says:

    She needn’t feel bad for me.. I am always aware of what an amazing city I live in..:)

  4. jimmyvac says:

    I heard something similar from a guy on the block who is a musician and lived in a lot of places, he actually said,”we’ve never been happier anywhere”.

  5. Jack Kelly says:

    I agree with Maureen, I’m very happy here also…………… Where else would I rather be than here in the present living among my memories 🙂

  6. Jack Kelly says:

    The only thing coach is you would have to be careful about the extra Sanitation Police they are hiring to supposedly increase the recycling percentage but in reality to increase revenue from the fines and the Traffic police who will get you in a nanosecond for being on the wrong side of the street on sweep day. Other than that it’s like living in the country 🙂

Leave a Reply

