THE GHOSTS OF CONEY ISLAND

Our friend and Windsor Terrace native Pat Fenton, has written a wonderful story for The Galway Review.

Click this link and see what I’m talking about.

IMG_1832

Pat grew up in the neighborhood and has been a huge inspiration to this aspiring writer.

Respectfully,

Steve

Hoops135@hotmail.com

This entry was posted in Blog, Coney Island, Pat Fenton and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to THE GHOSTS OF CONEY ISLAND

  1. Pat Fenton says:

    Thanks, Steve. Although the story is clearlyfiction, parts of it are based on nonfiction events, such as the singer Alan Dale being discovred in the Atlantis Bar. That happened. There is other musical history in our neighborhood (I say “our neighborhood” for all of us who no longer live there, because, in truth, Windsor Terrace is one of the few places in New York that no one ever really leaves once you grow up here.) Few people know that Wolfe Man Jack grew up near Prospect Park down around 9th Street, and hung out with some members of the oldest street gang who came out of there, The Tigers.

    keep writing,
    Pat

    • hoopscoach says:

      WOW!

      Pat, I did not know that about Wolfman Jack.

      You are correct about never leaving.

      It was cool when I found out that Sci-Fi writer, Isiac Asimov lived at 174 Windsor Place, between Fuller Place and 10th Avenue. During the 1930’s I believe.

      Will have to put that on my list when I visit in November.

      -Steve

  2. Joan (Ferraro) Hanvey says:

    Pat, Your story was wonderful. I was transported back in time, as well as into the present, and felt the intense yearning. My father used to drink boiler makers at the bar (as you mentioned the father did in your story) on Prospect Ave and 8th. And I used to hang out with Virginia Taylor whose brother was the head of the Tigers. In the past you had mentioned if my brother remembered you. My brother escaped from the neighborhood (as many of us did during the 50s & 60s) and I’m the only one from my family with fond memories of that time.

    • hoopscoach says:

      Joan,

      Is Virginia still alive?

    • Pat Fenton says:

      Glad you liked it, Joan. pass it along,and i would appreciate it if anyone who goes to the Galway Review site, who likes the story, gives it a rating. (Interesting you knew Noonan Taylor’s sister. He was so much a part of that neighborhood. I mentioned him a few months ago in an article I wrote for the Irish Echo newspaper about Pete Hamill.) I was asked to read it in September in the city, down at the Cell Theatre in Chelsea on 23rd Street. I think it will be on Sept 17 at seven. I will pass the word along to Steve when I know for sure if I’m going to do that.

      You know, there is something about our Windsor Terrace neighbrohood that stays with you forever.At least for me,and guys like Bob Rice. And I think it’s because so many of the important things in my life, so many things I learned as a young man happened there. (Much of it I learned from Jack Malone.) And when I was 17 it seemed to be full of pretty girls, and I was lucky enough to get to know some of them. That’s where I first read the writing of Pete Hamill and knew for sure that I wanted to be a writer; eventhough i had dropped out of Manual Training High School at 16. That’s where I left for the Army, at 20, to go to Germany in 1961 on a troop ship out of the Brooklyn Army Terminal, and thats where I came home to. On my return, I was told by the old timers up in Kerrigan’s Bar to leave my uniform on for that first night home. It was a diffrent America then.

      Stay in touch

  3. Bob Terry says:

    Steve, Thanks for bringing my attention to such a fine writer; Pat Fenton is a joy to read, Bob Terry in Los Angeles

  4. Robert Patrick Browne says:

    As an aspiring writer I can say that you had me with the first sentence. It got better and took me places that I’ve never been but somehow know very well. I guess it’s the people not the places that connect us to here and there and everywhere. Thanks so much.

Leave a Reply

