I HEAR MUSIC

My mother loved music.

We had a stereo in the living room, a radio in the bathroom and it seemed like we had music rockin’ in every other room in our five-room, railroad apartment on Ninth Avenue.  Our bathroom was right next to the living room.  When we would take a shower we would take the left speaker and pull it into the bathroom and listen to the music while we showered.

Mom listened to all genres and it made a huge impression on this young boy.

Sly and the Family Stone

Mom’s collection of music stretched from Rock-n-Roll to Soul Funk; she had a ton of albums, 45’s, cassettes and of course 8-Tracks.  The Rolling Stones, Zeppelin, Frankie Vali, Boston, Beach Boys, CCR, Tina Turner, Diana Ross and the Supremes, Tom Jones…

One group of musicians I recall is Sly and the Family Stone.

Yesterday while listening to some old school music I came across a few of Sly’s songs on i-tunes (If mom was still alive today I wonder how she would handle  downloading songs onto a phone and/or a computer?)

One album mom owned, and which I recall to this day was the Family Stone’s “Greatest Hits.”

We wore that black, piece of vinyl out by playing it over and over every day.

Songs like Stand, Everyday People, Family Affair, Dance to the Music and many more got my lazy ass up off the couch dancing in front of the mirror.

Listening to music from back in the day always takes me back, back into time.

-Steve

Hoops135@hotmail.com

This entry was posted in Blog, Music, Sly and the Family Stone and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to I HEAR MUSIC

  1. Maureen Rice says:

    Sly and the Family Stone were GREAT- I used to see them at the Circus and the Filmore all the time..and I love the new look of the blog!

    • hoopscoach says:

      Thanks Maureen…always have to keep looking for ways to improve.

      What is your favorite song by Sly and the Family Stone?

  2. Maureen Rice (Flanagan) says:

    Hey Music Lover…of course.:-)…also love Dance To The Music…Wanna Take You Higher..Hot Fun In The Summertime…

  3. Mary Anne (Brick) Monaco says:

    First live concert I ever went to Sly at Madison Square Garden Think we paid 10 bucks a ticket – Very top row
    we could almost touch the ceiling. I remember the security police dancing in the aisles – you couldn’t help but dance!

  4. ne says:

    One of my favorite albums.

  5. Willy Wickham says:

    New look is great though first I thought something was wrong with my computers display adapter! Very easy to read for us “old” folks.
    Will never forget the set Sly did at Woodstock. I actually tried to sleep after Janis but when Sly hit that stage realized sleep was not possible, ever.

    • hoopscoach says:

      Willy,

      What’s up my man.

      Love hearing from you!

      Thanks for the compliment on the new look.

      Hope you’re doing well.

      Red

  6. Paul Kurella says:

    Saw them at the Garden ,November 1970 .Tickets cost a whopping $5.50 each !! Like the new look Coach !!!

  7. Joan (Ferraro) Hanvey says:

    I also love all kinds of music. During my teen years, there was doo wop (and, of course, Rock ‘n Roll). My favorite groups were the Shirelles, Ronnettes, the Drifters, and countless others (but not the Supremes). I also loved Jackie Wilson, James Brown, and all Latin American Music and AfroJazz. As an 8th grader, I remember winning a dance contest (not first place) in Prospect Park at the bandstand. We heard all kinds of live music there, especially Latin music, and for free. I went on to enjoy folk music especially Simon and Garfunkel (I saw their reunion with the Everly Brothers at the Meadowlands and it was great), Joan Biaz, Bob Dillon, and Joni Mitchell. And eventually Janis Joplin (my daughter once asked me if I smoked pot because of my interest in Janis. I did not and told her I was fortunate enough to have music as my outlet), the Rolling Stones, and Linda Ronstadt (especially her Mexican album). I absolutely love (then and now) Delta Blues and just recently ordered from Amazon a DVD/CD of a recording of Muddy Waters and the Rolling Stones in 1981 at the Checkerboard Lounge in Chicago. Muddy called them up on a very small stage to sing and play with him and others (songs include Mannish Boy and Before you Go) although I must admit in comparison to Muddy, Mick kind of looked silly at times! You can also find it on youtube. I was lucky enough to be able to blast my music in our railroad apartment and no one complained not even my parents (well maybe a little)!!! From reading your recent blog re: the newcomers in the neighborhood, I certainly wouldn’t be able to get away with it now! Today, I have regressed and listen mostly to Doo Wop and Latin Music with a few operas thrown in. BTW: I did see Sly and the Family Stone many many years ago with my family in Toronto (on our Niagara Falls trip). Thanks again for this blog; it looks great!!!!

Leave a Reply

