CHANGE…SO WHAT!

Yeah yeah I know, they don’t dress or talk like you.

So what!

IMG_0890

They have a college undergrad degree and some have their Masters from fine institutions of higher learning.

Some have Ph.d’s, a Law degree or a Business degree.

They make a lot of money and own a Brownstone.  They can afford a three bedroom apartment across the street from Prospect Park.

So what!

They drink organic milk.  They eat healthy.  They ride their bikes around the park.  They bring their expensive baby stroller outside Connecticut muffin and chat away.

So what!

They are from Ohio and Michigan, and don’t have a Brooklyn accent.

So what!

They sip tea, own i-phones, i-pads and wear pork pie hats.  They own restaurants, coffee shops and used book stores.

So what!

They are writers, college professors, artists, doctors, attorneys, Baristas, musicians…

Again, so what!

These folks are proud to live in Brooklyn; they are proud to call it their home.

You call them “hipsters.”

They buy local and don’t complain about prices.  They are highly intelligent and follow sports.

They are alumni of Ivy League schools, Big Ten schools and Big Twelve schools.  They attended schools like Williams, Kenyon College, and Cooper Union.

So what!

Stop being ignorant. Start a conversation with the next person you see that you think is a “yuppie.”  That’s a funny word, “yuppie.”

It stands for Young Urban Professional.

I applaud these residents who have moved into the neighborhood.

They enrich it.

They cherish it.

They value it.

I heard one idiot on-line say, “They use their trust funds their parents set up for them.

These folks work hard.  They are smart with their money.  Trust funds or not, who cares?

I have a friend out here in Michigan, no make that two friends that have children who have moved to New York; they are good people, the kids rave about Brooklyn.

When I come back to the neighborhood, yeah I don’t recognize anyone on the avenue; most have moved out, some have passed. But I make it a point to say hi to these people I see in Terrace Bagels and walking the avenue.  When I visit in November I’m going to make it a point to meet them and get to know them and see how things are going.

They hang out in The Double Windsor, so what!

Respectfully,

Red

Holy Name of Jesus Class of 1978

Hoops135@hotmail.com

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to CHANGE…SO WHAT!

  1. Maureen Rice says:

    Not all change is bad..however, it is the sense of entitlement that some newbies display that gets to me..my nephew and his friends were having a backyard party one Saturday afternoon..loud music..a woman rings the bell.. ” would you mind turning your music off? We are trying to hear our chamber quartet at a wedding in my yard”…A friend has lived on 16th below 7th for years (she is in her 60’s) . Her mother lives a few houses away..in the summer, they sit out on the stoop.. the new owners of a house on the block rang her bell..”we think we should have a block curfew re sitting out..we have to go to work in the morning, and we can hear you talking..we think 10:30 is reasonable”..My favorite..standing on line at Terrace Bagels..(years ago) They had a very favorable review written in the Post..I say to a guy on line..”NY Post says best bagels in Brooklyn!” He looks at me like I have two heads and says..”I will believe it when I see it in the Times” I respectfully suggested he was free to make up his own mind, no matter what any newspaper said…so, yes, there are some cool people who have moved in..but you cannot deny the reality that one of the consequences is that long-time residents are now priced out…at one time, Windsor Terrace had one of the highest concentration of civil service workers (FDNY, NYPD, DSNY, Court Officers, etc) in the city..unless they owned their houses or had rent-controlled apts, their children cannot stay..

  2. Maureen Rice says:

    It is the same with anything..the obnoxious people get noticed much more than the majority of good people..I have to stay vigilant with myself to realize that…

  3. jimmyvac says:

    On Windsor, the new and old get along because the new people embrace the neighborhood, The crazies think that the world revolves around them are the issue. You want quiet, go to Jersey….

  4. Denise McNeely says:

    Steve,
    This is the first time I disagree with you on anything you have said on this blog. If you still lived in the neighborhood and had to deal with this “people” on a daily basis, you might have a different opinion of them. I have to ditto what Maureen said above. I had several run-ins with the yuppies as well. One incident was while I was still living on Howard Place in the late eighties. Two new families had moved onto the block in that past year or so. One summer night, a Friday in July, to be exact, my son (about 8 at the time) and his friends where having a softball game in the middle of the street. My son came into the house and told me the man a few doors away had come up to them and told them to stop playing ball because they were making too much noise. I told him to ignore him and go back and play. Ten minutes later, this man was ringing my bell. He told me that my son and his friends were making too much noise. He said, it’s after 8 pm and my 2 year old daughter is sleeping in the front room. It is keeping her awake. Please tell them to stop playing now.” I told him that there were 2 possible solutions to that; 1. move his daughter to the back room or 2. go back to Iowa and corn fields he came from. I probably didn’t put it that nicely. I’m happy to say he never spoke to me again. I’ve met many, many of the “Yuppies” since that time, and believe me, they are all the same.

    • hoopscoach says:

      Denise,

      Sorry to hear that.

      I’m not in favor of the guy complaining about the noise either, that’s weak. That would have never happened back in the day.

      This “making too much noise” shit is nonsense. Make the noise, have fun, enjoy life, screw ’em all!

      And it’s cool that you and I disagree.

      Hope you are well and STOP MAKING GO MUCH GOD DAM NOISE! LOL

      Just kidding.

      Your friend,
      Steve

  5. Diane Campos says:

    I also had to make a comment on this one believe me Maureen is right on target with these yuppies and their sense of entitlement, my elderly mother was shopping in the supermarket and was chitchatting with someone comparing their years in the neighborhood, my mom stated she lived here over 40 yrs., when one yuppie/hipster self entitled person turned to her and said :” Don’t you think its time you moved?” Needless to say that person should be grateful i was not with my mother at the time or else i would have shown her what a Brooklyn beat down was about Talk about rude!

    • hoopscoach says:

      Diane,

      Wow, for someone to say that, boy that’s terrible.

      Maybe I should re-write that essay.

      Thanks for sharing.

      Hope all is well.

  6. Kenny Whelan says:

    OK – first of all I have to say I only get back to the neighborhood a couple of times a year so I probably have a different perspective than those who still live there. It has changed over the last 25-30 years, and of course some of it is negative (higher rents/ cost of living) Same thing is happening here in Austin.
    That being said, I like being able to walk all over and there are good restaurants, etc. In the early 80s, the only place on 7th Avenue was Snooky’s for a “restaurant”. I can stay at a hotel in the neighborhood when I visit. One of the last times I was there, I walked up and down 3rd and 4th AVENUES to grab a bit to eat or a drink
    Prospect Park is beautiful not like back we were younger and you didn’t venture too far in (not to mention you had to pass all those people on Hippie Hill 🙂

    So yes there are negatives, but personally I enjoy it when I am there.
    Well, back out to our 17th straight day of 100 degrees here in Austin.
    Peace y’all
    Kenny

  7. tony fasano says:

    Don’t go back much myself. But I must agree with Maureen and being the gentleman that I am I will not comment.

  8. Maureen Rice (Flanagan) says:

    I agree iti s nice to have some more dining options and places for people to stay..I am not condemning the whole “new people” population..but a good many of them do have an attitude that they have “saved” our neighborhood and I just don’t agree with that..Coach, do you remember that article one of the newcomers wrote in the Daily News a few years ago? I think you had posted it here..she spoke as if we had been stumbling around in the dark til the new people got here.. I particularly remember her criticizing the Western Union office and cheering when the “drab” storefront was gone..um, have you SEEN the outside of the Double Windsor or Dub Pies?? Nothing against these businesses but they are not the most lively looking facades..her point was since SHE didn’t use the Western Union, there was no need for it to be there (at least that is what I got out of it at the time) never mind that perhaps other people IN THE NEIGHBORHOOD may have found it useful..but my absolute favorite thing about that article was the pictures accompanying it..almost every one misidentified the street…and my #1 fave?? a picture labeled as “Brick Brownstones” on Windsor Place with a pic of the 2 family bricks between 9th and 10th…really?? brick brownstones, lol?? perhaps the families that sold could have gotten an extra 100K by describing them as such!

  9. Pamela says:

    Hello,
    I stumbled across your blog one day when I was researching the history of the neighborhood. I’ve really enjoyed getting to know more about this lovely community through your blog.
    I am one of those hipsters/yuppies you are referring to. I don’t live off of a trust fund. My husband and I work very hard for our own money. We spend a majority of our earnings in this neighborhood. When we visited Windsor Terrace 12 years ago we feel in love with it because of the people, the business owners, and the fact that it wasn’t Williamsburg.
    The first day we moved into our place on 16th Street, we were welcomed by our landlord and neighbor upstairs introducing us to the folks on our street (many of which have lived here for a very long time). It was all going so well until the neighbor two doors down asked very impolitely, “You two don’t have money do you? We don’t like that type around here. Don’t think you’re going to come in here and turn it into Manhattan”. The best part – this couple had recently purchased their rowhouse and did not grow up in the neighborhood.
    Long story short – just because you see some of us “newbies” walking the avenue in Ray Ban Wayfarers or heading into Double Windsor, that does not mean we don’t appreciate what this neighborhood is – a wonderful community that cares about each other and takes action when needed.
    I don’t want this to turn into Park Slope. I didn’t move here because “It’s cheaper than Park Slope”. I moved here because I like a small town vibe and the park. I like knowing the folks who sell me my produce. I like that I can walk into Double Windsor and get a pint next to my neighbor after a long day of work.
    I wish I could get to know the folks from Farrell’s, but the young kids that call my husband a fag for carrying my guitar as we walk by just turn me off.
    So, if you see a chick with short hair in a dress walking down the street and you say “Hello”, be sure that I’ll greet you back with the same warmth!
    Pamela

    • hoopscoach says:

      Pam,

      Thanks so much for writing.

      I’m sure it must be very hard as an outsider to live in the neighborhood.

      When I visit in November, let’s you, me and your husband have a pint in the Double Windsor then we’ll cross the avenue and have a Container in Farrell’s.

      Your friend,
      Steve

  10. Pamela says:

    Steve,
    After only 3 years I can thankfully say that I don’t feel like an outsider these days, but a rather part of a “new” generation of folks that hopefully cherish this neighborhood as much as we do.
    I would love to meet up in November and finally cross that threshold of Farrel’s. The one and only time I’ve been in there was to deliver an obituary of a woman that lived down my street and frequented the place with her husband. Her son works with my husband and asked me to give it to the Farrell’s guys as he thought they would be interested in knowing about her passing.
    Thank you for giving this newcomer a warm welcome,
    Pamela

  11. Maureen Rice says:

    Pam, thank you for writing.. I am sorry about your husband’s experience with some knuckleheads in Farrell’s..that was kind of my point..THESE are the types of people that get noticed and, as humans, we tend to think they are representative of all of a certain “group” I work in the neighborhood and have a lot of new people come in, some are lovely and some are PITA..that’s just the way it is.. I am glad you wrote in here and look forward to seeing more contributions..you didn’t have to grow up there to love Windsor Terrace.and, Steve.. I don’t have a daughter named Erin, but my late brother-in-law John does..she and her sister have recently opened a drama school where Mrs. Cregg’s bookstore used to be on Windsor…she has a beautiful voice..she sang Bridge Over Troubled Water at her father’s funeral..I still get chills thinking about it….

    • hoopscoach says:

      Thanks Maureen…You are right, every group will have their share of “knuckleheads.”

      I had heard about the drama school; I hope she gets a lot of students enrolled.

  12. DanB says:

    Ha. If you grew up in this neighborhood and were male, and didn’t get called a fag at least a couple of hundred times before the age of ten, you were either born deaf, or didn’t understand English.

    Oh, and people also complained about the noise back then, but they were ignored. We did sit up on stoops gabbing until late, or rode bikes around the block, but I don’t remember anyone playing stickball at night. The street lights weren’t that strong back then (if they were working), so you’d probably lose the spaulding too easily. I think people have the right to ask someone to pipe down, as long as they accept the risk of being shot.

    Some people can’t accept the fact that a great economic change happened in NYC and other cities which people suddenly re-discovered as great places to live in the last thirty years. There were a lot of adults on my block of 16th st. in the 70’s who had advanced degrees, and who had backyard gardens so they could grow their own organic produce, rode bikes, etc., etc. Some of them even might have popped into Farrell’s once in a while for a few beers as well, because it was the only bar around. Sushi bars and espresso bars (except those over on Court St. and Little Italy) hadn’t been invented yet.

    It is bad that rents and real estate prices have gotten so high, and that working people are priced out. There was a broader mix of classes and incomes on the block back then, and that’s been lost. It’s just easy for some people to take out their resentment on those who move in, without caring or knowing who the new neighbors are.

Leave a Reply

