I’VE SEEN ALL GOOD PEOPLE

Some quick shout-outs to old friends I grew up with from the neighborhood.  I wanted you to know that I miss each and every one of you.   There’s not a day that goes by that I don’t think about you.

IN THE BASEMENT

I miss attending Holy Name with you.  I miss hanging out in the schoolyard playing ball.   I miss the nights meeting up after dinner on the park side and breaking everyone’s balls.  Hanging out in Prospect Park and most of all, in the winter time hanging out in the subway. I miss the nights of playing poker on the sidewalk.  I can’t forget about the many nights hanging out in everyone’s apartments, hallways and basements.  They were special times.  The music we listened to.  The arguments, the laughing and most of all, just being there for each other.

I feel this was one of the best group of friends a teenager could ever have.

John Cain, Sean and Mickey Riley, Speed, Pepe Fis, Jon-Jon, Eddie Fifield, Jimmy Cullen, Tommy Brick, Donato B., Johnny Mac, Paulie Ramos, Johnny G., Kevin Molloy, Julian, James C. and Robert Moran. I miss hanging out with Mary K, Maureen H.and Maureen D., Franny Cagino, Tammy, Doris, Laura, Karen A., Karen C., Lisa, Noreen, Maria, Patricia D., Janice, the late Joanne, and Michael VT.

Hope all is well

Respectfully,

Steve

Hoops135@hotmail.com

This entry was posted in Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’VE SEEN ALL GOOD PEOPLE

  1. Karen Artz Shanley says:

    I miss those days too. We really did have a special group of friends. We could always count on each other, no matter what. Did you hear the Reunion is scheduled for next April. Any chance you can make it to NY?

  2. Coach… been away for a while, great to see you keeping up the blog. I got an email from Charlie Alberti thru contacts in this blog, will try to see him this fall. Keep the faith and keep bringing back the memories.

    • hoopscoach says:

      Larry,

      Thanks for checking in. Send Charlie my best. Tell him I need to ask him some questions about the days he played for Ty Cobbs…

Leave a Reply

