MONDAY, MONDAY…

As a young boy attending Holy Name of Jesus Grammar School, I hated Monday’s.

It always seemed like the night before I could never fall asleep.  Watching TV, hanging out on the corner, the schoolyard…I just didn’t have the urge to hit the hay.

IMG_0844

I’d get about four hours sleep so when it was time to get up for school, oh boy!

Mom would yell and scream at me to get up out of that bed as I heard the school-bell ringing across the street.

Most mornings I skipped breakfast because I was running late.

Some mornings she would pass me an English Muffin as I walked out the door, half asleep.

Hate to say it but I’m sure there were mornings where I forgot to brush my teeth too. I know, that’s gross.  I probably ignored my hair too.

I bet if we looked back I was not only tardy more than any other student at Holy Name but Monday’s, well, I bet I was late every Monday for the eight years.

Now, my mantra is, “Don’t Be on Time, Be Early!”

Respectfully,

Red

Hoops135@hotmail.com

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to MONDAY, MONDAY…

  1. a.k.a. karv says:

    When my nice was a little girl I used to kid with her and say, what dose late mean and she would say NOT ON TIME! And I would ask her what happens when you’re not on time? She said you get FIRED!

  2. Jack Kelly says:

    It’s funny but I’m an on time type of guy except when it comes to work. If I have to be somewhere or meet someone, I’m early. Work on the other hand is another story….retirement can’t come soon enough 🙂

  3. a.k.a. karv says:

    Steve,
    You bet he was, he ran a tardy business start time 7:00am done by 2:30pm, and me at Farrell’s by 3:00pm with plenty of money and a lot of time to get in trouble. Like you said don’t be on time be early! Or see ya!

  4. Willie L. says:

    Now that I’m retired I realize Mondays get a bad rap. The stores are less full and so are the golf courses….I actually enjoy Mondays now!!!! The lesson to be learned here Red is to take better care of your hair or it soon won’t be there.

  5. jimmyvac says:

    I was always early for work, practice whatever.. Only in the past 10 years have I loosened up about parties.. I can show up at 2:30 for a 2:00 party.
    Whenever I showed up t work right on time, I felt late… guess it comes from the folks….Can’t wait to retire, Willie, got about 7 years to go….

Leave a Reply

