DEJA VU ALL OVER AGAIN

Hello Muddah
Hello Fadduh
Here I am at
Camp Granada
Camp is very
entertaining
And they say we’ll have some fun if it stops raining
.

Wanna’ hear something crazy about summer camp?

Yesterday morning my fourteen year-old daughter Taylor left for basketball camp.  It’s her first overnight camp where she’ll return on Wednesday.

By now you’re asking yourself, ‘Red-what’s so crazy about that‘?

IMG_0605

Well thirty-five years ago, when I was fourteen, I went to my first overnight basketball camp.

It was the summer before I was to start my freshman year at Power Memorial. Taylor will be a freshman in September.  Boy does time fly.  I can remember the day she was born back in 1999 like it was yesterday.

I recall the night before camp packing a travel bag with my shorts, socks, underwear and of course a few t-shirts.  I met up with Jimmy and Frankie Cullen along with Glenn Thomas sometime around six in the morning.

We met on Windsor Place at the 15th Street, Prospect Park subway station.  We could barely carry our bags for we were freshmen in H.S. and those bags were heavy and huge!  We were off to Jack Curren’s Basketball Camp at Marist College located in Poughkeepsie, New York.  Tall trees, green grass and fresh air, just what every city kid needs.

As Glenn likes to tell the story…I remember that we took the F train to 34th street thinking that we had to go to Penn Station when in fact we had to go to Grand Central Station on the east side to 42nd Street.  We were struggling down 34th street with our bags and a New York Daily News  truck driver who had already made his runs saw us and let us hop in to his truck and we were holding on for our lives as we had to stand in the back of an empty truck with the back door open as he sped crosstown to drop us off at Grand Central Station.  We were rolling around in the back of that truck. 

By the way, Taylor’s camp is about ninety minutes away, she was picked up at eight o’clock by a teammate and her mother.  They drove.  We on the other hand took the train.

Thanks for reading.

Respectfully,

Red

Hoops135@hotmail.com

 

This entry was posted in Basketball, Blog, Camp and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to DEJA VU ALL OVER AGAIN

  1. tony fasano says:

    How great was that? 14 Years old and going to Poughkeepsie, NY from Park Slope. No adult supervision, just you andthe guys.
    Today our parents would be brought up on Child Endangerment Charges.
    We never worried about doing something like that. It was a matter of fact kind of thing. No big deal I’m going to Poughkeepsie LOL.
    Good memories Steve. It sure was a much better time.

    L

  2. Eddie Matula says:

    Hope Taylor enjoy’s it like all kids should enjoy !!!! I’ll never forget my first and only sports camp—-Providence College for Ice Hockey- summer of 1988. Run by then and current NJ Devil’s GM- Lou Lamoriello. A dozen Brooklyn kids terrorizing all the New Englanders for a week—I’ll never forget it !!!

  3. jimmyvac says:

    My daughter went to the Mount Pocono hoops camp in PA about three years in a row and had a great time. I wish I had done something like that but I had baseball in the spring and summer so basketball camp was out of the question.

  4. Glenn Thomas says:

    Miss those days! That Daily News driver was pretty cool for doing that kind gesture for us. My duffle bag was bigger than me at that time! We were definitely struggling that morning!

  5. Jack Kelly says:

    It’s just wonderful how memories come to us through our kids. Just the other day my son learned how to play the Pink Floyd song “Wish you Were Here”. And it brought me back to when I played that song……The only difference is he plays it on a real guitar…..I played it on an air guitar. So “Muddah, Faddah kindly diregard this letter”. 🙂

    • G Trapp says:

      Redman, Looks like your teaching her well, she’s got good form, is she playing on her school team?- GT

      • hoopscoach says:

        Yes sir…about to start her freshmen year at the HS. She loves the game. Without any pressure too!

Leave a Reply

