ANOTHER BRICK IN THE WALL

Thanks to my guy Glenn for this image.

Wall in Boys schoolyard

(Double click to enlarge)

Respectfully,

Red

Hoops135@hotmail.com

This entry was posted in Blog, Holy Name, Schoolyard and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to ANOTHER BRICK IN THE WALL

  1. Pat Fenton says:

    I clapped erasers on that wall in the profound silence of the school yard. Below is a piece of a story I wrote awhile ago about my memories there. Sad to think that it is slipping away from us.

    I miss the way we were in America in the 50’s. I miss the innocence of standing in the shadows of Holy Name school yard in Windsor Terrace as a young boy on a winter’s morning. I can still see the black blur of a Xaverian Brother’s habit as his arm cuts through he cold air swinging a large brass bell. The sound of the bell would signal us to line up. It would break through the roar of what seemed like hundreds of boys screaming into the brief freedom of the morning. Then the high pitch of our voices would go silent and drift like a great banner over the houses of Windsor Place.

    The only sound now would be the shuffle of our feet as we lined up in neat rows at the front of the schoolyard. Rows and rows of boys with lop-sided grins and eyes filled with hope and excitement for a part of their lives that was yet to come. And I’m glad I was one of them.

    • hoopscoach says:

      Great stuff Pat…

      I think I was selected once in 8 years to clap the erasers. We wound up throwing them at each other.

  2. jimmyvac says:

    I was selected a couple of times to clap erasers and to run to Rae’s & Otto’s to get the teacher a coke and a bag of chips. I think it may have been the original bobble head doll, Mr. Jennings…..what is the affiliation of St. John’s University to the school?

  3. Maureen Rice (Flanagan) says:

    Pat Fenton..what a beautiful word picture!

  4. jimmyvac says:

    It was great clapping the erasers that would be used as weapons to be fired at your noggins the next day….

  5. Don Cush says:

    “the original bobble head doll, Mr. Jennings”. I am rolling on the floor laughing

Leave a Reply

