LET’S GO RANGERS!

Congratulations to the New York Rangers.  Great game seven win last night against the Washington Caps on the road!

Spoke to a friend on Sunday and during our chat they brought up hockey. “You never write about hockey,” they said.

They were curious as to why I didn’t write about it. Tell you the truth, I wasn’t much of a hockey player or a fan.  So with it being playoff time in the NHL and the Rangers winning last night (I actually watched the game instead of an NBA playoff game) I figured I would pen a few words about the sport.

As a kid, I wasn’t much of a hockey fan but I had friends that played it and loved it. I always recall them playing at the ninth street bandshell in Prospect Park and down on tenth avenue.

hockey_stick_and_a_puck

The late Drew Thomas (older brother of Glenn) was a great hockey player.  I also remember Kenny Reed from 15th street being a huge hockey guy. I think he was the only one in my grade with goalie equipment.  Mr. Mussa, my fifth grade teacher at Holy Name was always talking about hockey too.

I recall going over to Manhattan in the 80′s to watch Ranger-Islander games on cable TV because we still didn’t have it in the neighborhood.  A few guys from McBears or Farrell’s would drive over and Glenn and I would hop in a car and go with them.

It was a lot of fun back in the day watching the Rangers and Islanders battle each other. But last night was the “icing” on the cake.

Respectfully,

Red

Hoops135@hotmail.com

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to LET’S GO RANGERS!

  1. Kenny Whelan says:

    Steve,
    Played tons of hockey growing up. Started on Windsor between 8th and 9th with Marty Lakasowsy (sp), the Catalano brothers, Anthony Cagino, Chuckie Hagar from 13th st. and others. Moved on the bandshell and had hours of games against the guys from 15th St.(Peter Connolly, Pat Young, Kevin Klein, etc). We used to push and shove and try to pull jerseys over each others heads like we were playing the Flyers.
    Then things got organized. Leagues down at East 5th and Avenue F against Ronnie Lopez and Inky (thanks to Bill Webster and Fred Allen who were the refs). Was on the original Farrells ice hockey team (I wasn’t very good).
    Having been on skates in years. Miss those pick up games in the bandshell. They probably wouldn’t let is do that now.

  2. jimmyvac says:

    I remember playing (trying to play) in the bandshell circle at Prospect with cousin Drew, Donny Rice, Little Soupy (Pat Camplbell), and others… never a big hockey fan to watch but it was a blast to play even though I was the worst skater ever..
    Hey Kenny, the story used I heard as a kid was that Farrell won both on ice and roller skates?

  3. mike slavin says:

    go nordiques

  4. Kenny Whelan says:

    Jimmy,
    Don’t remember Farrells having a roller hockey team – just the ice hockey team. We had to practice over at Sky Rink on West 33rd in Manhattan around midnight. Of course, most of us already had a few beers by then, so they weren’t very productive.
    I believe the ice hockey team was 45-0 before the league disbanded. I only played the first year. Most of the games were out in Farmingdale which always added a little rivalry to the games – the boys from Brooklyn against the boys from the “Island”
    Kenny

  5. jimmyvac says:

    Kenny,
    I think my buddy Donnie Rice told me that.. he sure could spin a yarn….
    Hockey is big here on Staten Island… we know parents that were driving the kids to late night or early early morning practices in Jersey and elsewhere…

  6. mike slavin says:

    FARRELL’S HAD A ROLLER HOCKEY TEAM THAT PLAYED DOWN AVE F F IN THE EARLY 80’S ANTHONY HAJJAR, JIMMY CROWLEY, JOE FORTIN, PAULIE PALACIANO, TOMMY CAHILL, TOMMY PARKER ANTHONY RAIMONDO. NORDIQUES ALSO PLAYED IN A N.J. INDUSTRIAL LEAGUE. WENT TO ONE GAME WHERE THEY KICKED ASS ON THE ICE AND IN THE FIGHTS. CHUCKIE HAJJAR WAS ONE CRAZY DUDE. GOD REST HIS SOUL.

    • Kenny Whelan says:

      Mike,
      Chuckie was a good guy and one tough guy. Hung out with him all thru high school. We use to drive around in his father’s Ford Galaxy 500 just driving around to different parts of Brooklyn.

      Kenny

    • hoopscoach says:

      Mike,

      A blast from the past; Paulie P. – is he still around? Do you remember those whiffle ball games we played in 107’s schoolyard at night?

  7. jimmyvac says:

    Good to know, Michael… we gotta get together again soon…

  8. Kevin Mahoney says:

    Youth ice hockey is pretty big on the Jersey Shore. My son is 6 and he’s been playing in a 3 on 3 league for the past year, a game every Sunday morning and one practice a week. It’s a great form of exercise for kids, he comes off the ice soaking wet.

  9. mike slavin says:

    PAULIE IS LIVING ON 18TH STREET BET 9TH & 8TH AVES. STILL PLAYING SOFTBALL . WIFFLE BALL GAMES IN 107 WERE GREAT. STUFFED THE BALL W/NEWSPAPER MADE THE BALL GO FARTHER.

  10. Glenn Thomas says:

    I remember my late brother Drew Thomas playing with the younger Soupy Campbell and the younger brother of Mike Catalano they called “Mole” down at the league at East 5th Street Park where the original Fort Hamilton Roller Hockey League began under Bill Webster and Fred Allen.That league took place where they now play softball.
    The league moved to Avenue F and McDonald Ave when they built the rink with the boards. I can remember as a young kid watching my brother Drew slip a pass to Mole Catalano for the game winner in OT to give the North Stars the championship the last year at East 5th Street Park. I used to love to watch that league and especially my brother’s team called the Penguins at Avenue F. Other guys from the neighborhood that I remember playing down at that league were Michael Gallagher, John Abel, Timmy Hardy, Al Lopez, and Vinny Scali,
    After playing ice hockey at Saint Francis College with Tom Parker, I can also remember my brother playing for a very short time with a team called the Newark Sabres which was a semi-pro team. Everyone on that team was a fireman or cop that had great insurance plans. Needless to say he didn’t stay on their too long for there were a lot of “head hunters” east of Borneo. Too many guys like my brother left this world too early. One guy mentioned earlier was Anthony Incarbone aka “Inky”. Inky was another good one that left us way too soon. I really enjoyed this topic for it brought back so many great memories!

    • Kenny Whelan says:

      Glenn,
      Mole was Jimmy Catalano. Their father Jerry was involved in organizing the East 5th league.
      I’m probably played against your brother Drew sometime. Not sure how old he was. I was born in 1956. Graduated from Bishop Ford in 1974.

      Kenny

      • Glenn Thomas says:

        Kenny, My brother Drew would be 53 now. Born in 1960. He knew those guys like Randy Reis, John Blesh, and Inky, Mole’s brother Mike coached my brother on the North Stars. They lived on Windsor Place I believe between PPW and 8th Ave.

      • Kenny Whelan says:

        Glenn,
        Yes the Catalaonos lived on Windsor a few doors down from the Mahoneys. John Blesh lived across the street from me on 8th ave.

  11. Don Cush says:

    In the early 80’s I remember walking around the neighborhood and in and out of Farrells in my Islander jacket and having everyone curse and swear at me. Man, those were the good old days!!! lol

  12. Maureen Rice (Flanagan) says:

    The Islanders will be moving to Brooklyn in 2015…

Leave a Reply

