10 YEARS AGO

With it being the month of May, it only means one thing when it comes to college. Commencement of course!

I will never forget the day I told my mother Carol that I was moving from Brooklyn to Michigan.

It was the spring of 1996. We were standing on 11th Avenue between Prospect Avenue and Sherman Street.

Me: “Mom, I’m moving to Michigan.”

Mom: “Why are you moving to Michigan?”

Me: “So I can attend college.”

Mom: “What? Why do you wanna go to college?”

Seven years later I had my undergraduate degree from Central Michigan University!

Ten years ago this week was a proud moment in my life.  It was the second proudest day of my life (the first was in 1999; my daughter Taylor was born).

How do you explain a high school dropout in the 80’s turning the corner and getting their college degree in 2003?

It took hard work but it can be done.

The day I walked and received my college diploma well, it changed my life.

Ever think of going back to school?

I highly recommend it.  You can thank me later…

Good luck!

Respectfully,

Red

Hoops135@hotmail.com

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 10 YEARS AGO

  1. Kevin Mahoney says:

    You and Dan Majerle are my two favorite Central Michigan alums!

    But seriously, you deserve a lot of credit. Putting in the work to earn a college degree while raising a young child is no easy thing.

  2. jiimyvac says:

    Steven, I went back to finish my Bachelors around the same time and went on to earn a MS. I did things backwards.. you should explore classes while you can.. I declared a major too soon. When I went back, I took alot of my liberal arts classes and had a blast… took film, creative writing, and history classes and enjoyed it…I went back at 36-37 and finished in my early 40s… a buddy of mine was laid off by Interstate Bakeries and he is attending college at 55 and is enjoying it..

Leave a Reply

