YOU AND ME

Long as I remember
The rain been comin’ down.
Clouds of myst’ry pourin’
Confusion on the ground.
Good men through the ages
Tried to find the sun;
And I wonder, still I wonder,
Who’ll stop the rain.

Powerful lyrics from one of my favorite songs of all-time…

Prendagast and Willy Wickham

I heard this song many times as a kid; My mom had a cool collection of Creedence Clearwater Revival. 45’s, albums, and eight tracks. (If you’re under 40, you have no idea)

I heard “Who’ll Stop the Rain” in Timboo’s, on the Parkside, in someone’s basement…shit I think I even heard it in McBears and the Windsor Pub?

It wasn’t until this morning that I pulled up the lyrics on the internet. Remember when you had to listen to a song a million times to learn the lyrics?  I’d play it over and over until I got the words right. Down at the record shop on 5th avenue they sold textbook-sized books with lyrics in them. I once bought a Rolling Stones book to learn all of Mick’s jams. (See, I did actually open a text-book as a teen).

I always loved the sound of the music from this song; loved the flow.  After  finally reading the lyrics, I have a new perspective.

I miss rock and roll from the 70’s.

Respectfully,

Red

Hoops135@hotmail.com

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to YOU AND ME

  1. tumpy (billy shaw) says:

    Creedence and the stones were 2 of my favorite bands growing up.I remember listening to Honkey Tonk women and Woodstock over and over again in georgie routhiers basement. Now its easy with the computer to find all your favorite lyrics. Every time i hear Put me in coach i think of the summer league in the school yard Those were the days

  2. jiimyvac says:

    CCR was a great band. I still think their version of Proud Mary is the best.
    Fogerty has a great voice….

    • hoopscoach says:

      I’ll go with Tina Turner…

      • Willy Wickham says:

        After Creedence, Fogarty would not perform any of those songs for years. Seems he signed the wrong piece of paper and Fantasy Records owned his songs. He was bitter and wouldn’t perform them.
        Story goes, Bob Dylan told him he’d better get over it and start doing his songs again or folks would think Tina Turner wrote Proud Mary. He started doing them again.
        He has since managed to reacquire the rights to all of his songs. Happy ending.

  3. Maureen Rice (Flanagan) says:

    CCR is so tied up with the Vietnam War in my mind..as is Marvin Gaye. the Doors..I knew people that came home and said Motown, the Doors and CCR was the most popular music over there..then, almost all the Vietnam era movies draw heavily on that music..Who WIll Stop The Rain was even the title of a movie starring Nick Nolte as a Vietnam vet- oh, but then there were the Stones, Jefferson Airplane, The Chambers Brothers…ah, hell, it was a great era for music that just happened to coincide with a war…..

  4. jiimyvac says:

    Always thought CCR and the Hollies were two great bands that are never got the accalim they deserve…Maureen, always think of Jefferson Starship and Jefferson Airplane as two different bands with the sound changing so dramatically. Steven, I like the Tina Turner version but it seems like a totally different song…

  5. Don Cush says:

    Woodstock was CSNY

Leave a Reply

