LET THE PIGEONS LOOSE

I lived on the corner of Ninth Avenue and Windsor Place; Third floor over Bob’s Hardware Store.

When my mother wanted me to go to the store she would put money in a napkin, fold it up and toss it out the window to me.

“Run to Associated and get me milk,” she would say.

IMG_0852

I’d look up, observe her hanging out the window and before she would toss the crumbled up napkin down to me she would look around first.

“Just throw it, come on!” I screamed back up at her, clearly agitated at her delay.

The napkin would free-fall with the money into my hands. I would cup my mitts like Willie Mays in centerfield.

Sometimes there would be just bills inside, sometimes coins and sometimes both.

Regardless, I hated going to the store for mom but loved trying to catch the napkin.

Respectfully,

Red

Hoops135@hotmail.com

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to LET THE PIGEONS LOOSE

  1. jiimyvac says:

    My parents,, aunt & uncle, and cousin Cathy (Gabbert) used to do the same thing. I used to go to Frank’s grocery store on the corner of Windsor and 7th. Cathy used to let me keep the change….

  2. TonyF16th St says:

    When Carl owned the deli between Farrells and Jack Stella’s shoe repair we used to go in and just sign the paper bag . Then my old man would settle up on Friday (Payday)

    • hoopscoach says:

      Tony,

      I remember people would do that! LOL

      Also, how about the families that ran up tabs at Associated on 9th avenue?

      I recall going in there with my friend and he would get a ton of groceries.

  3. TonyF16th St says:

    That was the age of Mom and Pop stores. Things were done in trust.

  4. jiimyvac says:

    Tony, you are right… a couple of times my folks told me to tell Fank or Mary to put it on their bill…..

  5. mike slavin says:

    ASSOCIATED, MERLINS, ALL TOOK CREDIT AND I BET MANY OTHERS WITH OUT ASKING. IT’S HOW THEY DID BUSINESS. AND OUR PARENTS MADE SURE TO PAY THE BILL WHEN THE PAY CHECK CAME IN. NO EXCUSES. AS ONE OF 8 KIDS I ALWAYS WONDERED HOW MY MOM HAD US ALL DRESSED TO THE NINES ON EASTER SUNDAY. AND STEVE MY MOM DID THE SAME THING OUT THE FRONT WINDOW. IN THE BACK YARD WE HAD A PICNIC BASKET ON A ROPE AND LOWERED IT DOWN WITH THINGS WHEN WE BARBECUED. DIFFERENT KIND OF WORLD BACK THEN. MUCH MORE SIMPLE.

  6. mike slavin says:

    2 LINES OUT THE BACK WINDOW. I HAD TO CLIMB THE POLE TO CHANGE THE LINE WHEN IT WORN OUT. MY DAD WOULD PUT A KNOT AT THE END, PUT IT THROUGH THE BACK OF MY BELT LOOP I’D CLIMB THE POLE GET TO THE TOP. HUNG ONTO THE POLE WITH ONE ARM AND PUT THE ROPE THROUGH THE WHEEL. I DON’T THINK PARENTS WOULD LET THEIR KIDS DO THAT NOWADAYS. KIDS DON’T CLIMB FENCES OR BUILDINGS LIKE WE USED TO BACK THAN. ESPECIALLY WHEN WE PLAYED SOFTBALL DOWN AT 154. I WAS ONE OF THE SMALLER GUYS AND PROBABLY THE LIGHTEST. THEY WOULD BOOST ME UP THE THE LEDGE AND THE REST I WAS ON MY OWN. GETTING UP WAS SIMPLE. GETTING DOWN WAS THE HARD THING. YOU HAD TO CLIMB DOWN ,HANG FROM THE LEDGE. THAN JUMP 10-12 FEET TO THE ASPHALT.

  7. mike slavin says:

    I USE TO CHUCK THE CLOSE PINS AT THE SQUIRRELS IN THE YARD.

  8. Gene Green says:

    How many movies have we had with the lines running through backyards and between buildings. Sticking your head and top part of the body out the 4th floor pulling clothes in. Now most locations outside of the city won’t allow outside clothes drying. As a family (with 7 Kids) we always had a washer I don’t ever remember a dryer.

  9. One movie comes to mind,Buck privates come home clothes line scene….No?

  10. Mary Anne (Brick) Monaco says:

    Hey Steve, living over the L & J bakery we had to go through the bakery to get to the apartment upstairs because the side door never worked. We all had a key to the bakery. The problem was you had to use the key to lock the bakery door when you left. When I was dating my husband he would have to use the key to lock the bakery door when he left and then throw the
    key up to me at the window. Good thing he had a good arm and good aim.
    Lots of fun memories of living on 9th Ave.

    • hoopscoach says:

      Mary Anne,

      I remember that.

      At times when I’d be over with Tommy, if I happened to leave after ten, I remember Tommy walking me downstairs and locking the door.

      I always wanted to go behind the counter and get a black and white cookie.

      Remember when Rocky would throw out the cakes in front of the bakery?

Leave a Reply

